4G/3G Data Loss - Not just a Bionic problem?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by TatDroid, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I don't spend much time on the Thunderbolt or Charge forums, but according to THIS POST it looks like this could be as much a Verizon problem as it is a Bionic problem. If true, it makes me wonder how much this "update" we're supposed to see in November may really help this situation...
  2. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    I'm in a 4g area and the only time I lost data was when we had an area wide outage.
  3. cloudman7
    Offline

    cloudman7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its the network mostly all 4G phones that come out till the end of transaction to lte r beta stage which will be by the end of 2012 when 3g foot print will covered in 4g. I had the same issue with tb but a off 4g switch fixed that. Lte is still really new but big red is expanding 4g fast.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    So the Razr has been out for 2 days and the data loss thread in the Razor forum is 4 pages long. Thunderbolt, Charge, LG, Bionic, and now Razr all still having major issues with data drop.

    Hmmmm, I wonder what the common thread is here? What do all these phones have in common? Don't tell me. Let me think on this for a minute...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what we've been saying all along. 4Glte us still a fairly new technology in the US, and its got some bugs that still need worked out.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. atlrus
    Offline

    atlrus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    Nah, 4g isn't really that new in terms of technology.

    The problem is definitely phone-specific, in a way that the phone doesn't work with the network, not the other way around. My proof is that I have a Bionic with 4g-3g switching issues in my house, yet my Tbolt works just fine and I have traveled with it many times from the top of the country to the bottom.
    I am in no way disregarding Tbolt folks with data issues, all I am saying is that maybe their phones don't work with their part of the network.

    Sure, it could be Verizon's fault for not working closer with the phone manufacturers, but I would not buy this argument in the case of Moto. Point in case - instead of fixing the Bionic being their top priority - they go ahead and launch the Razr, likely with the same issues the Bionic has. This shows me that the do not care about their customers one bit.
  7. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I don't get your logic. Some phones work in some parts of the network, but not others. Other phones work in different parts of the network, but not other parts. But it's NOT the network?

    How many LTE phones are there now, 6? How many of those are reporting high incidents of data drop, 6?

    The Bionic may have some problem with its radio that is adding to the data drop issues, but it's painfully obvious that the Bionic is not THE problem. The network has issues (and a Bionic OTA update is not going to fix that)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  8. b00mb00mchuck
    Offline

    b00mb00mchuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I keep reading all these data loss threads and I'm the 1%.... I always have 4G... I use wifi at work because I'm inside a steel building... when I go back outside.. my 4G ALWAYS works never had a problem... never had a problem with my droid3 on 3G either... not sying it doesn't exist elsewhere but there are people who are getting along just fine.... probly don't hear as much from us because we don't have anything to grumble about
  9. atlrus
    Offline

    atlrus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    It's not about always having 4g, it's about having 3g in a weak 4g area, i.e. when you loose 4g the Bionic should go to 3g, but in my case it doesn't. It simply stays without data until 4g is picked up again.

    Exactly. The only constant in this is the network. If a Tbolt phone works just fine at SpotA, but Bionic doesn't work at SpotA, how is that the network's fault, when the network at SpotA is unchanged? Do you see what I'm saying?
    Or a real world example. At my house my Bionic has data issues, when it looses 4g it can't connect to 3g 90% of the time; meanwhile my Tbolt works just fine switching from 4g to 3g, my Incredible is picking 3g just fine and my wife's Samsung is also picking up 3g just fine. How is the network's problem, when out of 4 phones only the Bionic fails?!?
  10. droidrenegade
    Offline

    droidrenegade New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I have not had the problem, I do have my btry drain from time to time switching from 3g to 4g, but there is one other thing that is in common the OS, I don't think that all the ph. companys making these PH. have bad QA . departments. So my thought is the system or the OS has a problem . for what its worth.
  11. strohmoose
    Offline

    strohmoose New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Who bought Motorola mobile? Google?

    :icon_ devil:
  12. zack27
    Offline

    zack27 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    data fix

    I have had this problem. But there is a simple why to get it back on. Turn airplane mode on then off should get your data back right away.I know it not a true fix but it at least it not a reboot it has worked everyone I have tried it.
  13. jughead75
    Offline

    jughead75 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I've posted this in another thread that was discussing the same issue of data loss. Purchased my Bionic late September and had it for two weeks before I started having issues with data drops. About three weeks ago I had no data for an entire day. Toggling Airplane mode, restarts, and battery pulls had no affect. The next day at 12 pm my data returned and I have not had a problem since and I'mm constantly moving in and out 4g coverage areas everyday. Network or phone issue?

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  14. zack27
    Offline

    zack27 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    data

    i think it the network im also traveling in and out of 4g to
  15. NHRich
    Offline

    NHRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's very frustrating. I get no data when people around me with different phones do fine. I have a bionic.:frown:
  16. zack27
    Offline

    zack27 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    data

    Turn off your 4g when traveling. I have the bionic also
  17. NHRich
    Offline

    NHRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4g is off. Droid Bionic has major reception problems.
  18. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    I've been of the opinion all along that this is a combination of problems with the network and the phone firmware and how it resolves choosing and handing off 3g/4g as signal strength changes. My guess is Verizon and Rotormolar are working together, as are other vendors to design a fix, thus the delay. Just my opinion.


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  19. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    No matter how many times I heard people argue that it was a PHONE problem, I was never convinced. THIS ARTICLE offers the best explanation of the probable cause that I've heard yet.
  20. nomadh
    Offline

    nomadh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a bionic and it can work fairly well but something is definitely up. It can have problems either switching from 3g/ to 4g or wifi but many times does it flawlessly or at least close. Maybe switch within 10 seconds but sometimes minutes. And I suspect if I didnt play with it it would never correct. But its not just switching. First I'm not moving so it shouldn't need to switch but also: I usually have my bionic in 3g only mode. Sometimes it can stream for hours then the next day at the same location it will cut in and out all day. and thats with it locked into 3g only so no hunting between networks to worry about. From what I read I have to figure I have a pretty good bionic. Some seem worthless as wireless devices. Those are definitely defective. Seems very unlikely a firmware patch will help and if it seemed to I'd be very worried I was at the cusp of failure. Those units should be retired and resold used as handheld game stations I suppose. I got the firmware patch last week and so far I see no difference in my connectivity. I think I need a program that logs my connectivity. I suspect I'm connected >90% of the time yet many times I go to voice to text or a browser or stream pandora I have no connection so I'm reallly not sure. Maybe I'm disconnected a lot.
Search tags for this page

3g not working on droid bionic

,

3g data loss problem

,

droid bionic loses 4g and 3g

,

how come my 4g isn't working

,

my 3g isn't working on my htc thunderbolt

,

my 4g isn't working on my android bionic

,

used droid bionic not picking up 4g

,

why do i loose 4g inside

,

why do i loose 4g when i walk inside a building?

,

why does my droid bionic always lose service

,

why isn't my data working

,

why isnt my android picking up 4g