VZN Bloatware

spydergirl

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
356
Reaction score
3
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Just uninstalled a boatload of bloatware apps on this thing. Do u think that will make a difference in performance or battery power? Not that it's lacking at all! Just curious. ........

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
 

94lt1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
17,049
Reaction score
4,014
Location
SE TX
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2
It is a possibility. But I think that most if the bloatware doesnt even run in the background unless you open that app... I have a ton of apps disabled too..

I get about the same battery life as I did with my maxx.. but fewer data drops.
So apparently samsungs chip plays better with LTE than the qualcom chips, I say yhat becayse I've talked to a few people with the dna, and they're not happy :eek:
 

Caesars

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
114
Ima disable bloatware tonight, im actually getting better then maxx battery life ;)

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
 

bellbound

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I'm new to Android. How do you disable the apps/bloatware?

Thanks.
 

Wonmotyme

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
185
Reaction score
10
bellbound said:
I'm new to Android. How do you disable the apps/bloatware?

Thanks.

Go under phone settings> app manager> all apps> select app you want to disable and there you have it. On caveat need to make sure it isn't tied into the androids system or you may have issues. This is why I started a thread so people can start listing the items they have disabled without any issues. That way threw is a resource to send people to. Good luck hope this helped.
 

Wonmotyme

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
185
Reaction score
10
Ps welcome! It's more "funner"on this side! Any other questions fire away. This community is made up of mostly helpful nice people
 

toperm

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
47
Reaction score
5
Dumb question., how do I get to phone settings? I see the main settings but no app manager. Thanks
 

Caesars

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
114
The little square (with a few lines going through it) at the left of your home screen, followed by settings, followed by applications, followed by *all applications*, or something like that :).

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
 

pool_shark

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
1,401
Reaction score
14
Location
Ohio
Some of the apps have to have their updates uninstalled before you can disable them.

I do not believe deleting apps provides a boost in performance.

Not to mention, if you delete preinstalled apps and try to install a Verizon OTA update, it will fail.
 
Top