Vortex rom

tjarvis

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
Just wanted to shine a little light on a great rom that seems to have been overlooked. Over on rootzwiki under the d2 dev section where the roms are, give the vortex rom a shot. It's fast and stable with fairly decent battery life with decent custom options including notification pulldown power strip. It's worth a flash if you're looking for something other than cm7 or liberty 3.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
 

beanstown

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Location
Massachusetts
Vortex RC For D2

i have ported vortex to droid 2 And decided to release here along with all my other roms instead of just on rootz..

i have added the update RC and ported it to droid 2 as of 11/9
seems to have fixed alot of the bugs


Features:
  • Based on OTA 605 with moto-blur
  • Reboot option in Power menu
  • Reboot to Clockworkrecovery in Power menu
  • Power widgets in notification pulldown
    • Brightness toggle in notification area now toggles Max/Auto brightness
  • Themed framework/lockscreen/phone + contacts
  • Startup scripts enabled (includes modified imoseyen tweaks)
  • Super Launcher2 (thanks Bigxie)
  • Custom boot animation
  • vortex script (by Me)
  • VorteX ToolBox
    • Change Battery Icons (10 and 1 percent options)
    • Change Carrier Text
    • Change cpu governor (interactive, powerboost, ondemand)
    • Enable/Disable startup scripts
    • PowerBoost options
      • CWR on every boot
      • Data throttle mod
    • Calibrate Battery stats
  • Several source built apps
    • Email
    • Calendar
    • Mms (thanks to DroidJunk for his code for color options)
    • Terminal Emulator
    • DSP Manager
  • Froyo Blur Camera
  • Latest market apps (superuser, market, rom manager, go launcher ex, maps)
  • Build.prop updated for market compatability (thanks to cdexsw from mdw)
  • RomManager included (helps with the toolbox to flash mods automagically)
  • Startup Scripts for maximum performance (thanks BMc08GT for powerboost integration)
  • CWR recovery 5.0.2.0 preinstalled
  • Removed Swype so swype beta can be easily installed
  • Removed Bloat
  • Fast
  • Great Battery Life
  • Probably some more, can't remember
Video Review Courtesy of DroidModderX http://droidmodderx.com
VorteX Review
Release Candidate(11/9)
Hotfile.com: One click file hosting: VortexRCD2.zip
 
OP
tjarvis

tjarvis

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
Awesome, spreading the love on drofo! I'd like to see this catch momentum, thanks for the post.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
 

Lovegiver87

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hey I
have question I had vortex on my dx but 2 days ago I got a dx2...... Can I use vortex on Droid x2?
 

Lovegiver87

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hi had a dx and had vortex on it I love it..... 2 days ago I got a dx2 can I use vortex on it?
 

punter5500

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Been using this for about 2 weeks now

This is and awesome rom and fast and the battery lasts so much longer than on stock.  love this rom great job
 

MonKENy

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2010
Messages
349
Reaction score
2
Location
Riverside, CA
im on Vortex and lately ive tried to update search and get the package file not signed correctly error, anyway to fix this?
 

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
12,825
Reaction score
283
Location
Pennsylvania...
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
You'll probably have to delete it from system then download it from the play store. You do need to reboot after deleting it or the new one will fail to install.
 

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
12,825
Reaction score
283
Location
Pennsylvania...
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
You can use a file manager from the Play Store. I know root browser has a free version so I would suggest that one (or if you have Root Explorer that will work as well). Just use it to navigate to system/app, delete search there, and then reboot.
 

MonKENy

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2010
Messages
349
Reaction score
2
Location
Riverside, CA
I deleted the search bar and re downloaded google search. Now it just force closes when I try to open search.
 

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
12,825
Reaction score
283
Location
Pennsylvania...
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
Well I was just in the process of replying. Great to hear it is working now :biggrin:
 
Top