Text Message Shows Number but not Name

GerbilGrenade22

Reaction score
Hello all. New to the forums here. Just finally got rid of terribly old phone and upgraded to the D3 so I am new to the Droid OS; so I apologize if I make any stupid mistakes.

Verizon added all my contacts from my old phone, and when I receive texts from those people, their names show up fine. With all other contacts that I add, the text shows up being from their number (e.g 123-456-7890).
I have looked through the forums of older droids with this same issue and tried their troubleshooting (adding a last name, etc.) but seem to come up short.

I'll try and outline the steps of what I can and can't do.

With new contacts that I add, I have the option to select Google (gmail account) or Backup Assistant (phone). I have tried both, but both seem to just show numbers from text messaging.

If I open up the text message to where it shows all the conversations, it shows the names and most recent messages of each conversation. With the ones that show up as 123-456-7890, if I click and hold on the pic, then click contact, it pulls up their name and everything. But when I open the conversation, then click and hold on the number (where the name should be), then click view contact, it shows up as unknown (giving option to add to existing contact or create new contact or call them).

Curiously, when I go into contacts and click contact history, it shows up with the text conversation and phone calls.

I've also tried to go into contacts and select the name/number and send a text from there; it still shows number instead of name.

Also tried switching stored number as mobile instead of home number.
Deleted and re-entered information.
Tried 7 digit number, 10 digit, and 11 digit numbers (including area code and not) and still does not seem to work.

I am baffled and open to suggestions. Thanks for your time.

Edit: