Root with no pc?

shrap707

Reaction score
This is my first post nd I am fairly new to the android scene, but basically I would like to know if there is a way to root my phone without using a computer as I don't have one ( my droid 2 is my computer!!!). I tried the z4root but then learned it wouldn't work cuz I updated to gingerbread. After that I tried the GingerBreak v.1.2 wich doesn't work it just keeps attempting to root...for a bout 2 hours. Yes usb debugging is on and sd card is mounted. Any help would b greatly appreciated! TY

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums

joncann

Reaction score
Z4root was the ****! I'm in the same boat. Recently had to replace my r2-d2 and I had forgotten how much I hated the bloat on this bad boy. Need to root it soon or I'm going to explode.

Squeak87

Reaction score
I am having the same exact problem with my Droid 2. I am running Gingerbread 2.3.3 and cannot seem to root it.

sent from my Droid 2

joncann

Reaction score
I had to borrow a computer and root my phone squeak. Really the only way to do it with the new gingerbread.

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
Yessir. Only way to root is with a computer, unless you're on Froyo

CM9

Squeak87

Reaction score
I also tried rooting it from my computer but it freezes after exploit 1 when trying to reboot phone, and phone is stuck at bootloader screen.

sent from my Droid 2

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
Did the phone have any water damage or anything hardware related?

What root method? What GB version were you on?

CM9

Squeak87

Reaction score
I bought the phone used but it has no water damage and no hardware damage, it has been working great. I tried using almost every root method out there. Gingerbreak, Petes Tools, and SuperOneClick are a few I have tried. I am running GB 2.3.3

sent from my Droid 2

joncann

Reaction score
Is your phone set to charge only? I bricked my first R2-D2 unrootting while not having it in charge only. That might be your issue.

Squeak87