Root or Not to root...??

reyoung17

Reaction score
I've had the Droid X for a few months now. But have grown tired of the factory look... I'm debating on rooting it to be able to install a new ROM and theme. Also wanna be able to tether it... I have z4root to root it. Not so much worried about being able to root it. From what I've read its click it and it does its thing. However, what I am worried about is how to install a new ROM and choosing a good one. Any suggestions?

tnronin

Reaction score
I was hesitant to root my D1. Glad I did it. Once you get the terms down doing this stuff isn't hard. I'm not an expert by any stretch. I'm learning as I go. I wanted to extend the battery and CM has done just that.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

Technoman

Reaction score
Rooting is not the issue, but loading custom ROM's is different with the X versus the Droid 1. It is up to you, and you need to do it for yourself. Don't let anyone else talk you into it.

OP
R

reyoung17

Reaction score
Rooting is not the issue, but loading custom ROM's is different with the X versus the Droid 1. It is up to you, and you need to do it for yourself. Don't let anyone else talk you into it.

No one is talking me into it. I'm wanting to do it myself. Just not sure I know everything i need to know in order to do it correctly. And the last thing i wanna do is lock down my phone.

guest00459

Reaction score
Peer pressure! Anyone have any roofies? We are going to date rape your phone

B

doomer4life

Reaction score
Lol anywho what questions do you have? What are you specifically worried about?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

jonecat

Reaction score
While I agree you should root your X, I honestly have not seen much benefit to the custom ROMs in the X community. I have tried almost all of them and come back to stock every time, it is by far the most stable.