recovery w/ broken buttons.

DSM4rill

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
hey... question to all that know.

is there a way to reboot to recovery with a broken power button?. my phone is rooted and i wanted to change my boot animations and install a custon rom... my phone was wet a while ago now the power/lock button and "volume down"on the rocker does not work. i was told i needed these buttons to do a flash recovery.

anyone know a method to get around this?

all insight is appreciated. thanks in advance


DSM4rill.
 

ldopa

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
4,735
Reaction score
2
Location
Rochester NY
You think there would be with us droid and d2 users having a hard keyboard but im not sure you can do it
Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
Yes. But why would you risk it?

Sent from my A855.
 
OP
DSM4rill

DSM4rill

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
well...im not aware of the risk.
i changed my boot animation fronm thye red eye to the android stock using a free app. but i cant change back. i called my geek friend and he said " you have to do a flash recovery."

i went through the motions and found out i need my volume and power buttons. i called him back and he reffered me here...


so i guess im stuck with my current animation and no way to install custom roms? which is fine, but im a lil' disappointed.
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
Well if something goes sour, you wont be able to power on.

Sent from my A855.
 
OP
DSM4rill

DSM4rill

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
i can power up from just pluggin in to my USB/wall charger...been doing that since its been wet.
powering up isnt the problem...its getting to recovery mode...the options are controlled by the buttons (the only buttons) on my phone that do not work.


was wondering if i could bypass or take another route
 

DROOIID

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Messages
395
Reaction score
0
Location
Lincoln, NE
i can power up from just pluggin in to my USB/wall charger...been doing that since its been wet.
powering up isnt the problem...its getting to recovery mode...the options are controlled by the buttons (the only buttons) on my phone that do not work.


was wondering if i could bypass or take another route

Download rom manager flash cwm if you haven't already,and there is an option to boot into recovery.
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
i can power up from just pluggin in to my USB/wall charger...been doing that since its been wet.
powering up isnt the problem...its getting to recovery mode...the options are controlled by the buttons (the only buttons) on my phone that do not work.


was wondering if i could bypass or take another route

I understand this. However if you power up from that state, you can't get into bootloader if you ever need to sbf your phone.

If you have issues flashing a ROM, I don't know that you will make it out, or it will make it out alive.

Sent from my A855.
 
Last edited:
OP
DSM4rill

DSM4rill

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
...and with that being said...i think i will leave well enough alone. Im satisfied just overclocking, changing fonts, deleting stock apps and all the little stuff i can do. Im new to it and cant afford to experiment. Thanks guys for all of the insight. Im very grateful.


DSM4rill.
 
OP
DSM4rill

DSM4rill

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
new problem....im stuck on a boot animation screen but cant boot up because my stock launcher is frozen...


how can i resolve this?
 

syndicate0017

Silver Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
2,007
Reaction score
48
new problem....im stuck on a boot animation screen but cant boot up because my stock launcher is frozen...


how can i resolve this?

Just plug your powered-down phone into the charger while holding up on the D-pad. That should put you into the bootloader so you can SBF it.
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
new problem....im stuck on a boot animation screen but cant boot up because my stock launcher is frozen...


how can i resolve this?

Just plug your powered-down phone into the charger while holding up on the D-pad. That should put you into the bootloader so you can SBF it.

If you do that from a powered down state it will give you an error and try to boot normally. That's what I was saying from the beginning.

Supposedly you can get it into bootloader from RSDLite somehow, but I can't verify that.
 

syndicate0017

Silver Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
2,007
Reaction score
48
new problem....im stuck on a boot animation screen but cant boot up because my stock launcher is frozen...


how can i resolve this?

Just plug your powered-down phone into the charger while holding up on the D-pad. That should put you into the bootloader so you can SBF it.

If you do that from a powered down state it will give you an error and try to boot normally. That's what I was saying from the beginning.

Supposedly you can get it into bootloader from RSDLite somehow, but I can't verify that.

Just verified that it takes you to the bootloader by doing so. Put my D1 in a powered-down state, held up on the D-pad and connected to the charger. Went right to the bootloader.
 

CJM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
10,604
Reaction score
1,749
Location
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6
Twitter
https://twitter.com/Corey
new problem....im stuck on a boot animation screen but cant boot up because my stock launcher is frozen...
how can i resolve this?
Frozen?, like with Titanium backup? Or just stuck?

Just plug your powered-down phone into the charger while holding up on the D-pad. That should put you into the bootloader so you can SBF it.


If you do that from a powered down state it will give you an error and try to boot normally.

I've gotten into recovery and the bootloader that way, but only with the wall charger.

And as for the needing the volume rocker in recovery, the D-pad will work for that. Also, pressing the center of the D-pad is the same as using the camera button.
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
Must be when it is plugged into the PC.

Learn something new everyday!

Sent from my A855.
 
Top