quick Froyo 2.2 question

joeylion

Reaction score
Hi everyone... i am a newbie... quick question...

Just rooted my phone and now have Froyo on my SF(love it!). I noticed there is now a "Mobile Data" toggle switch in the drop down menu...

1) What does it do?

2) What are the benefits of it?

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
From your description it sounds like a switch to turn off the sending and receiving of data over your carriers network... Probably most useful when roaming as to not incur the extremely expensive roaming data charges.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

Speed_419

Reaction score
That is exactly what it is used for. It also comes in handy when you are worried about battery life during an above average usage day.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App

OP
J

joeylion

Reaction score
Does it prevent me from getting text messages or application notifications?

Reaction score
No I wouldn't think so since its only data so you should still be able to text and call.

Speed_419

Reaction score
Nope. Just turns off data. Email, surfing, any program that refreshes data. Basically it is like unplugging the modem on your computer. The phone still works, but no data. Text on Verizon travels over phone circuits so they aren't affected, but Google Talk would be..

OP
J

joeylion

Reaction score
so my gmail app wouldn't push my emails through until I tirn it back on, correct?

OP
J

joeylion

Reaction score
great, thanks so much! I've lurked this forum for a while now...I'm glad I joined!

Speed_419

Reaction score
No problem. If you REALLY want to start learning more and want to scratch your head with wonder and amazement check out XDA. Those guys do some amazing things! Most of the stuff we do to our phones originates from their work..

OP
J

joeylion

Reaction score
XDA? Who are they?

Speed_419

Reaction score