Play ON (how to set up and use)

supermandroid

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Moto X 2nd Gen
For the past year I've been a huge fan of PlayOn TV. After I graduated and finally left my parent's nest, I realized that I just didn't care enough about television in general to keep forking out the extra cash. I found roundabout ways to catch my favorite shows, but I always felt like there was a bit more technical work involved that kept me from recommending it to the average Joe. I'm pretty sure everyone here is a bit more technical than most (I learned to root my Droid X on this site several years ago!), but PlayOn has been very simple to setup and use. I would definitely recommend it for both technical and non-technical users. To be clear, PlayOn is owned by MediaMall. They also have PlayLater, and MyMedia, which I will just briefly cover as I don't have any first hand experience with them. By the way, none of these pictures are taken by me. They would have been potato quality.

So, what is PlayOn? PlayOn is a DLNA server that uses UPnP to stream media from their servers to yours.
Digital Living Network Alliance - Wikipedia the free encyclopedia
Universal Plug and Play - Wikipedia the free encyclopedia

What hardware do I need? Chances are you have everything you need, already. You need a Windows based machine that will be on at all times (or at least while you're wanting to stream TV), and you need a gaming console, streaming box, HTPC, or tablet. Here is a list of supported devices: What you need to use PlayOn A list of gaming consoles streaming devices and other supported devices compatible with PlayOn PlayOn
I personally use Kodi, my Chromecast, and PS3 for streaming media. I will tell you a bit more about my experiences with those. I have had no issues using this on a NAS within Virtualbox. Using it with Kodi is my favorite:
playon_screenshot.jpg