Physical QWERTY vs. Virtual - what to do?

Reaction score
Hey guys! As my contract renewal is coming up in two weeks, I'm so ready to get a new phone. My problem is I have been using a physical QWERTY keyboard for four years now. Whenever I try to use the virtual ... I never hit the right letters, haha! Maybe it's something you have to get used to, but I'm really stuck between a rock and a hard place because the only two Motorola Droid phones that have physical QWERTYs are the Global 2 (which has already been out awhile, but I have heard it is a great phone) and the Droid Pro (which I haven't heard many good things about -- but perhaps someone on here has some positives). So - what to do?

Did you find it easy to adjust to a virtual keyboard, or are you a fan of the physical?

Hawaiian Princess

Reaction score
hi, I own both a Droid 2 global and the Droid x. the global of course has both keyboard and touch, which makes it even better. if u have small hands like myself, I believe u will be happy with it. the X is touch only with a pretty big screen and typing is easy. the draw back on both touch screens? it is very sensitive.
go with the Global, I think u will like it

sent from the Hawaiian D2G

technopeasant

Reaction score
Be sure to try swype before you decide. You didn't mention it so I'm presuming you're not familiar with it. Sorry if I'm incorrect there. Swype lets you slide your finger across the letters and then it figures out the word you want. My two cents is it makes the virtual keyboard about as fast as two finger typing on a full size physical keyboard. There are alternate virtual keyboards one can try, too. I'm a fast typist so before I got my DroidX I worried a dinky one would be a pain. But Sywpe works pretty well, particularly when you learn how to avoid its weaknesses. It has no sense of humor, unfortunately, and has to be taught slang, but that's the way it goes.
Be sure to do your experimenting with the virtual keyboard in landscape mode.

crowax