New to the whole "rooting" thingy...

Grifter

Reaction score
Ok, I'm asking because I just don't know....I had the original Moto Droid and heard a lot of people discussing "rooting" your phone. I really didn't pay any attention to it at first. Now I have the Droid X, and the IT geek in me is starting to come out to play and wants to know, what are the advantages and disadvantages of rooting? I know if you jailbreak an iPhone, you lose your access to the Apps store - what are the ramifications with rooting your Droid phone?

MyNewDroidX

Reaction score
I'm new to Android myself and trying to learn my way. I'll let someone smarter answer the "what is rooting" question. In regards to jailbreaking an iPhone, that does not cut off your access to the App store. I just moved from an iPhone and I accessed it fine. Of course we're on a Droid forum, but I mention this so you are careful about what people tell you. Don't take all comments as fact :)

JCo352

Reaction score
Well root has not come to the Droid X yet, so that IT geek in you is going to have to wait longer.

Reaction score
Well first off you picked a bad time to feel like a IT geek cause the DX cant be rooted yet. But it should come somewhere down the road as the bootloader is cracked

Rooting short and sweet lets you do things with your phone that were previously not included or locked out, and also to make the phone more "yours"

With rooting you can:
Apply Custom Themes (colors, text, boot animations, icons, etc)
Use app's that weren't native to your phone
Overclock (speed up the cpu so the phone is snapier)
Custom Roms (These roms could be newer leaked versions of Android, (like we are experiencing now with 2.2 official release just over the horizon) or just modified stock Android Roms with new features to also customize the phone to "YOU"