New FRG22 release of Froyo need PIN security for exchange email. How do I disable it

tahdor

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
I installed FRG22 leak. But that added some security for exchange email. I
It is very annoying. I have to punch in PIN every time I on my phone. Is there any way to bypass/disable this ? I do not care about remote wipe, let that be there. But can I bay pass this PIN business some how ?
 

droiddadi

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2010
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Even all FROYO leaks has it as part of remote wipe active sync policies.
 
OP
T

tahdor

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
It started from FRG22. FEG01B does not have it. Not atleast on my droid. All I want to know, is there any work around ?

Thanks
 

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
19,368
Reaction score
9
Location
N.E. Ohio
It started from FRG22. FEG01B does not have it. Not atleast on my droid. All I want to know, is there any work around ?

Thanks

I would think if this is true and FRG01B does not have the pin issue maybe you could just roll back. I'm running FRGO1B again, at least the version that's at the front of the page that is rooted. You can download it here. This is the same version only you won't lose your root. Give it a try, Jrummy came up with it.
 
OP
T

tahdor

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
It started from FRG22. FEG01B does not have it. Not atleast on my droid. All I want to know, is there any work around ?

Thanks

I would think if this is true and FRG01B does not have the pin issue maybe you could just roll back. I'm running FRGO1B again, at least the version that's at the front of the page that is rooted. You can download it here. This is the same version only you won't lose your root. Give it a try, Jrummy came up with it.

Thanks for suggestion. I did roll back to FRG01B. But I do not want to be stuck on FRG01B for eternity. Well I was just checking if somebody has an antidote. HTC saphire also had this problem, but people got it solved by installing email app from FRG01B. I tried installing GoogleEmail.apk from FRG01B into FRG22 but that didn't help.
 

Burnicus

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Lame

So the password policy is being forced by Exchange. The only way that I have found to "fix" it is to remove the password policy from the exchange server itself. This is most likely not going to happen unless your IT dept is very lenient The problem I have now is that the settings have stayed, even after purging my data from exchange and resynching.
I'm thinking I'm going to wipe the device, but was wondering if anybody knew how to remove the security policy without wiping.
 

violkim

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Lynnwood, WA
That's very true!

I've added my work's exchange server for hours and removed it since it always required me to enter pin or password to unlock my screen even if I just want to make a phone call or look at something else! In my case, it was required for both of frg01b(stock, rooted) and frg22.
I just ended up to TouchDown which is a little bit expensive but worthy.
TouchDown also required me to enter the pin in the beginning of its setup but I could easily reset it from Phone setting and it asks me to enter the pin only when I entered to TouchDown itself which makes sense.
 

LT*

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
631
Reaction score
0
I've added my work's exchange server for hours and removed it since it always required me to enter pin or password to unlock my screen even if I just want to make a phone call or look at something else! In my case, it was required for both of frg01b(stock, rooted) and frg22.
I just ended up to TouchDown which is a little bit expensive but worthy.
TouchDown also required me to enter the pin in the beginning of its setup but I could easily reset it from Phone setting and it asks me to enter the pin only when I entered to TouchDown itself which makes sense.

This is what I would suggest too. My wife has exchange set up on her D2, and it's the same thing, password for every unlock of the phone. It's annoying, and unnecessary. They should have placed the lock on the app only, not the whole phone. Touchdown is the way to go for exchange anyway.
 

badog

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2010
Messages
83
Reaction score
0
Location
Lost in Iowa...
It's not an exchange issue really. It's the FRG22D. It doesn't understand when the exchange policy is set to not require a pin or password, it defaults to at least 4 characters no matter what the policy is set to, even if the policy is set to password/pin disabled.
 

bigfire

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I've added my work's exchange server for hours and removed it since it always required me to enter pin or password to unlock my screen even if I just want to make a phone call or look at something else! In my case, it was required for both of frg01b(stock, rooted) and frg22.
I just ended up to TouchDown which is a little bit expensive but worthy.
TouchDown also required me to enter the pin in the beginning of its setup but I could easily reset it from Phone setting and it asks me to enter the pin only when I entered to TouchDown itself which makes sense.

This is what I would suggest too. My wife has exchange set up on her D2, and it's the same thing, password for every unlock of the phone. It's annoying, and unnecessary. They should have placed the lock on the app only, not the whole phone. Touchdown is the way to go for exchange anyway.

It's a 'feature'. Enterprise institution want you to type in password for EVERY SINGLE UNLOCK.
 

keiichi25

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
364
Reaction score
0
Well, the Security conscious types will want to make sure your device isn't going to be used in a way to violate their privacy policy.

Remember, the most common security violation is employees accessing information outside the company environment on an unsecured device. Mobile phone/pdas are one of the major security risks next to just simply allowing outside connections through non-SSL based tunneling.
 

delcopa

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
202
Reaction score
7
It's not an exchange issue really. It's the FRG22D. It doesn't understand when the exchange policy is set to not require a pin or password, it defaults to at least 4 characters no matter what the policy is set to, even if the policy is set to password/pin disabled.

Actually that is not true, I am an Exchange Admin and at home I have two policies one for require PIN and the other not to require PIN. I have about 10 phones connecting to my Exchange server, Blackberry, iPhone, Droid, and HTC's only one that has the require PIN is mine and the iPhones others don't require it and stayed the same after the update. As far as corporate they all require PIN at work no exceptions there.
 

PARick

Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
722
Reaction score
0
Bump. I would love to know if there is a work-around on this! Touchdown has a pin, I don't need another!
 

Fuzzball

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
106
Reaction score
2
Would removing/uninstalling these two files resolve this:
/system/app/DroidEmailPolicy.apk
/system/app/DroidEmailPolicy.odex

I've considered modifying the OTA update.zip to have the associated files deleted and removing any entries of those files in the update scripts and seeing what happens. I'll probably end up doing it, seeing what happens, and rolling back if necessary. It might be a few days before I report back though; I prefer to flash things like this when I know my phone can down for an hour.
 
Top