New Droid Incredible

wayshwing

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to Droid phones. Have used Motorola Qs for years, but have used smartphones and PDAs since the 90s..

I'm trying right now to figure out how to remove apps from my phone. Am also having issues with apps starting and running on their own..?:icon_evil:

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Welcome to the forums!

As for removing apps, are you attempting to remove the apps that came pre installed on the phone? That would require root.

And as for apps starting on their own android os will start things based on when it thinks it/you will need it. This of course applies to things running in the background.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

OP
W

wayshwing

Reaction score
I notice that when using ATK to kill apps, some keep popping up, specifically "voice search", "Amazon MP3", "clock", "skype mobile" and "my verizon mobile". I kill these and they keep opening back up.

Are these normal. I dont need any of them... I hate to be using batt life of MBs just for these...

I have an Incredible and my friend has a fascinate, and we're both wondring how to actually remove apps we dont want.

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
First off you need to get rid of that task killer, its doing you more harm than good. As for the other apps yes it is normal for them to keep coming back but if you ever root your phone you can get rid of them easy peasy.

OP
W

wayshwing

Reaction score
Great! I will get rid of ATK.. any other task stopper you recommend?

Where do I go to learn how to root my Incredible?

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Task killers all together are bad for android. The os has its own built in task manager, so adding a task killer on top of that and telling it what to do becomes problematic. You can check out the inc sub forums to find out more about rooting.

chargedup04

Reaction score