Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

1PDoc

Reaction score
Hoping this is the right forum to ask this...

I'm new to rooting and a few weeks ago I made the mistake of trying to change font on stock ROM using ROM Toolbox. Now my stock side is boot looped. I can still access and flash custom ROMs, which is fine, but I'd like a fully functional device.

A couple other details: 1) I'm running Safestrap 3.05; 2) No, I didn't do a back-up

I'll know better next time around. Meanwhile, I'd appreciate any help- thanks.

jpcalhoun

Reaction score
Hoping this is the right forum to ask this...

I'm new to rooting and a few weeks ago I made the mistake of trying to change font on stock ROM using ROM Toolbox. Now my stock side is boot looped. I can still access and flash custom ROMs, which is fine, but I'd like a fully functional device.

A couple other details: 1) I'm running Safestrap 3.05; 2) No, I didn't do a back-up

I'll know better next time around. Meanwhile, I'd appreciate any help- thanks.
The first thing I would try is to clear cache/clear delvik/clear data on the "stock side". You will have to get into recovery to do this.

joshxdroid

Reaction score
I would probably use matts utility to fastboot back to stock and start from scratch. It'll be a bit of a pain setting everything up again, but probably worth it in the long run. And make a backup next time

Sent from my XT912 running some custom Rom.....I can't keep changing this sig

OP
1PDoc

1PDoc

Reaction score
I did clear cache, etc but it did no good.

I have Matt's utility 1.82., hoping this is correct? If you can guide me to the most comprehensive set of instructions I'd appreciate it.

Also, I'm a little unclear if I can run it with safestrap still installed and whether I'll need to re-root afterwards?

I'm fine setting everything back up- I'm the one who made the stupid mistake, so I deserve it. And sorry for so many questions-thanks for your help...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

GoCliffGo05