Messaging App Won't Transmit GMail IMAP -- Stuck in Outbox

Leesburg_Dave

Reaction score
Hello. I am new to Droid X and am getting VERY frustrated with the GMail setup with IMAP within the "Messaging" app. I have my PC's Outlook Client working fine with GMail IMAP so it appears that all is well on the GMail side. I want to use "Messaging" because it, unlike the "GMail" app, it more or less lets me choose a "profile" to send/receive from: (1) Corporate Sync, (2) Verizon or (3) GMail. I'd really rather not have to switch to another app for GMail and "Messaging" for everything else -- that just seems backward. I like the way "Messaging" works.

Anyhow, here's my problem:

IMAP sync works fine for all folders except Outbox.
When I compose a message in "Messaging" under my GMail IMAP "profile", it just sits in the outbox with the error message, "Gmail IMAP message not sent" (no other details). Futher, the message appears in outbox, and the only option I have is to delete it. No re-send, no open/edit, etc.

Here are the settings I have:
Incoming Server:
imap.gmail.com, port 993
[email protected]/password
Use Secure Connection (Checked)
Verify Certificate (Checked)

Outgoing Server:
smtp.gmail.com, port 465 (also tried 587)
[email protected]/password
Use Secure Connection (Checked)
Verify Certificate (Checked)

I tried the applications-all-gmail-clear data procedure but all that did was dump my GMail app (which is what I thought it would do), but did nothing for the "Messaging" app. Is there no way to use "Messaging" app for IMAP GMail? Am I stuck using only GMail or something else I have to download?

Thanks for your assistance!
David

OP
L

Leesburg_Dave

Reaction score
Fixed it!

After a long hold time at Verizon Customer Support, they finally got me straightenned out. After the tech had me remove the battery from the phone for about 10 seconds, then restart, SMTP started working again on "Messaging" using Verizon.net. Verizon.net (on FiOS) is: