Lookout?

rastaman

Reaction score
Does anyone use Lookout? Does anyone use any anti-virus for Droid? Do they need any anti-virus?

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
I used it, it didn't do anything but suck battery and take note of everything I downloaded, I haven't had it installed for months and I still get an email saying my system is safe, in my opinion it does nothing and is a waste

Dr.Dad

Reaction score
I agree it is probably a waste, but I downloaded it for the "find my phone" feature...you can turn everything else off. I do use the antivirus (why not) but don't use the backup feature. I can't comment on the battery life suckage

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
Mobile Defense as a system app works ten times better than lookout as far as "finding your phone" it will actually turn on your GPS via a text that you send from the mobile defense site and then tracks it on a map with pinpoint accuracy, it can also lock down your device

TommyV

Reaction score
nOOb here. I'm using "antivirus" What's kinda cool is that on the lock screen, it has a "This phone belongs to: "

pcolevr

Reaction score
Mobile Defense as a system app works ten times better than lookout as far as "finding your phone" it will actually turn on your GPS via a text that you send from the mobile defense site and then tracks it on a map with pinpoint accuracy, it can also lock down your device
@TPARKER76 - If "Mobile Defense" is a system app versus a Market app, do you have to be rooted to get it? If not, where would I find it? The combination of Lookout, AntiVirus and Task Killer that the VERIZON REP had installed on my Droid with Froyo was giving me about 2 hour max battery life, so needless to say they are all history (and now my battery is good for around 29 hours). However, like others, I would like to have the find a phone feature that Lookout offered. So........how do I get Mobile Defense on my stock phone?