K9 email on Droid

kwass

Reaction score
I am a long time BB user and recently purchased the Droid on Verizon. I installed the K9 email app since I wanted some additional functionality but I am unable to get this thing to work. On - Checking outgoing server settings - I get a error message saying "Cannot connect to server. (Unable to open connection to SMTP server)

My company uses a hosted Exchange Server that I am trying to connect to.

I am not a developer but do know a little about technology so any help would be appreciated.

SmittyZ3M

Reaction score
Have you tried using the "stock/standard" e-mail application to sync to your company's Exchange server, instead of K-9?

I have used K-9 to connect to POP3 servers. I originally attempted to use the "stock/standard" e-mail application to connect to my POP3 server, but I found it to be very buggy. I came across K-9 and I feel that it works very well for me.

zmeflyby

Reaction score
I tried using k-9, but it was really buggy. The original email application is better. sadly....

danhur

Reaction score
I tried many times to get my msn account with the original email app. But everytime I ran the email app it failed with a dialog box saying application halted. Tried k9 and now have all 4 email accounts running great not one failure. I don't use exchange at my company just pop but k9 is a droid saver for me.

tishabarr

Reaction score
I have my hotmail acct. linked to k 9. I have no problem getting emails or notifications, but is there a way to view my hotmail contacts through k9?

Spartan

Reaction score
I tried using k-9, but it was really buggy. The original email application is better. sadly....

You might want to try again. The new version (2.403) which is available in the market is much better than the stock version. It allows for multiple accounts, signatures, bulk deletion of emails and more. It is significantly better than stock IMHO.

droidemere

Reaction score