Icons help

Dj Carpenter

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Alright, I want to make some custom icons. When I make them I make sure they're the same font, size, everything but no matter what, the icons come out as different sizes. Here is an example of the icons I want to make. Any help would be appreciated.

lowertextPROMO.jpg
 
OP
Dj Carpenter

Dj Carpenter

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Thank you! I'll check that out. I also found out that I have to patch them. Tried looking at that once but couldn't really put my finger on it. But, I'll check out that post:)
 

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
2,296
Reaction score
208
Location
In a race car...
I posted a screenie in the screenies thread that shows a couple of the icons I made, check out my camera icon with the Droid Eye in the lens ;)
 
OP
Dj Carpenter

Dj Carpenter

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Nice! I saw that post when you posted it but I didn't notice that until now
 

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
2,296
Reaction score
208
Location
In a race car...
It was alot easier than I thought. I Photoshopped the Droid Eye in the lens and reduced the image to 72 X 72 with a transparent background, texted it to myself and saved it in a folder. However... I am using "Desktop Visualizer", which allows you to use images as your icons. I haven't replaced any system icons. They are in a special folder called "icons" and DV pulls them right from the folder. :)
 
OP
Dj Carpenter

Dj Carpenter

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Yeah, I'm using DV, and sizing them to 72x72 BUT, I've been using Photoshop for everything and now I'm using GIMP and it's confusing.
 

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
2,296
Reaction score
208
Location
In a race car...
I have Photoshop, Macromedia Fireworks and Flash, 3D Studio Max, and a couple other graphics programs. If I had more time I would do more with it but my off season from racing is going to be over soon. :icon_ banana:
 

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
2,296
Reaction score
208
Location
In a race car...
I find Fireworks to be alot easier for making the images... it's quick and easy. I make the shapes in 3D Studio Max, render them as a PNG file then open it in Fireworks to finish it off.
 
OP
Dj Carpenter

Dj Carpenter

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Well all I'm doing is typing a work and making the background transparent. Pretty simple but...it's being a pain.
 
Top