I messed up I think and need help asap...

ViciousArt

Reaction score
Ok, I have a droid that I use for work. I'm totally new to all this root/rom stuff and have been trying to figure it out...

I rooted my phone from 2.2.2 using oneclick, I downloaded rom manager and installed liquid gingerbread 1.85. I didn't clear the cache it told me not to, and it installed, and upon reboot I got the loop. I understand what went wrong and I have to try again... but my phone is stuck in the loop...

How do I get back to my regular android OS so that I can get back into the rom manager and try again... I have no idea how to get this loop gone so I can try again. Any help, and try to speak noobie for me...

Thank you so much, I just want to save my phone and I fear that I screwed the pooch on this one...

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
from a phone off state press and hold the x button on the keyboard, and the power button simultaneously. this should get you in to recovery where you can do a data wipe/factory reset as well as wipe the cache partition and see if that will allow the phone to boot up.

OP
V

ViciousArt

Reaction score
I tried that, now it won't go passed the Motorola M... I even tried using a factory update.zip file to install, and it either can't find build.prop or I used another file of 2.2.2 FRG38G signed, and it gets halfway and gets some other error message. too long for me to remember...

I'm completely lost now, and I think my phone is screwed. I wiped the SD Card completely clean, formatted all data, system, boot, cache. And still can't get a factory update.zip of 2.2.2 to install...

Might have to take it to Verizon, or something.

aristoid

Reaction score
Did you make a backup before you flashed the new ROM? If so, you will find it in the clockworkmod/backup folder.

Catch the boot if it's still looping, or do a battery pull, then follow the post above to get into recovery.