I may sound like a idiot? Is rooting and hacking the same?

Tloc107

Reaction score
Is rooting and hacking the same? I am new to this and have never done this. However I think it is time because I am sick and tired of all these factory apps I don't use that are always running that are killing my battery. Are there any factory apps that are linked together where if you delete one the other wont work? Are there any factory apps I don't want to delete because it may hinder the ability or performance of the Bionic? Thanks in advance

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Not an idiotic question as none of us were born knowing all this junk. We just started reading about it before you did. When I decided in December of 2009 that I wanted to root and install custom roms on my Droid, I read very thing on this and other Android forums that I could. When I was positive that I totally understood what I would be doing, I went for it and have never looked back. I would suggest that you go to the Bionic section and read everything there. Ask questions when you don't understand or need clarification and have fun!! This is a fun little hobby/compulsion!!

OP
T

Tloc107

Reaction score
Here I go again. What is flashing someones rom do? I don't want the books app,amazon kindle, city id, citrix, dlna, email, gotomeeting, im, lets golf 2, mobile hotspot, my verizon mobile, nfl mobile, news, social networking, talk, vcast media, vcast music, vcast tones, vcast videos, vz navigator. I think I want to dump all of these but not entirely sure what they all do and wondering if I may miss any of them? Anybody think any of these are useful and I should keep them? If so why and which ones and what do they do etc? Would any of these be bad to remove? Can you put them back on if you remove them? Would dumping all these save battery life being a lot of these are running off and on throughout the day. Anybody do this yet and if so does battery last longer etc. Thanks soooo much!