How do I turn on GPS?

EA.Droyd

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo, 64GB
I'm new to the Smart actions thing and would like to know how to turn on/off the GPS. Isn't there a toggle for this?
I want to set a rule that knows when I'm at work or at home or in the car. At work, I simply want to turn off the ringer and wifi. In the car turn on Bluetooth and the ringer and turn off Wifi. And, once I'm at home, turn on Wifi for use on my home network. I just can't get anything to work because I don't think smart actions knows where where I am.
I'm also using Beautiful Widgets.

Last edited:

bsweetness

Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Pixel 2 XL
There's a toggle on the Power Control Widget for GPS. There are many other widgets in the Play store for it if the included one isn't to your liking. You can also turn GPS (and other location-based services) on/off here: Settings -> Location services.

To add location as a trigger in Smart Actions, just tap the + beside triggers, selection location, tap the + sign at the top right, and then choose how you want to add the location. After you've added locations, you'll be able to choose them as a trigger for the different things you want to do.

OP
E

EA.Droyd

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo, 64GB
Thanks for the reply but where do I find the built in widget for God?

CtrlZ

Reaction score
Just go to system settings, location services and select your GPS there

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

CtrlZ

Reaction score
....and turn your wifi on for better accuracy

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

OP
E

EA.Droyd

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo, 64GB
I have everything checked in location services but still I have no icon indicating GPS is on and no smart actions are active. Why isn't there a built in way to turn on/off the GPS and 4g like wifi and Bluetooth? Perhaps I'm missing something. I just want smart actions to work. It won't unless it knows where I am at.