How Do I Change default Dialer on N3?

ripper2860

Reaction score
OK -- I admit, I am new to this phone, but isn't everybody?? Loving the phone, but I have one quirk that is driving me nuts...

I don't like the stock dialer (a bit too cartoon-ish for my liking). I've used exDailer on my previous moto phones and really like it. It installs and works on the N3, but I cannot set it as my default dialer. When I perform and action that requires the dialer and I am presented with an option to select the dialer program "Just Once" or "Always", exDialer is never an option. I've gone into task manager and cleared the default settings and no-go. Appears it is not an exDialer issue as the same happens with RocketDail. I've also seen reports of this issue with the S4.

Any ideas??

BTW - not rooted.

Thanks!!

Wow. 190 views and no ideas. Don't know if it is a 4.3 thing that prevents changing the dialer or a Samsung thing. I guess this is a real head scratcher or I am the only one that doesn't like the stock dialer. :biggrin:

I installed the exdialer to test ...I was able to select as always and have it go to it...I tested from maps and dialing a number...it gave me option for both...BUT when number shows in exdialer if I hit to call it's still using the stock phone interface...

Yeah. Maybe that better describes my issue. It still uses the stock phone interface.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

I have same issues with anything I want to change to default. Ie chrome instead of browser. Firefox.

Most none oem installed apps I keep getting 'clear defaults' after selecting always. And keeps prompting if I want just once or always.

OK -- I admit, I am new to this phone, but isn't everybody?? Loving the phone, but I have one quirk that is driving me nuts...