HDMI out

mcatdtDroid

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
705
Reaction score
0
Ok so I know there are some video that doesn't play HDMI out. And some that do.

So I need a checklist for what I need to play anything on my TV at home. Is there an app that puts my dx on my TV that I need to download? I know I need the cord, but if I want to watch a movie, play a YouTube clip or even check my Facebook on my TV....what do I need?

Sent from my DROIDX
 

cubuff

Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
72
Reaction score
0
The hdmi cord is it

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
 

kennydied23

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
594
Reaction score
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Whatever your phone supports, it will be able to play on the tv. As for the apps, you can download a free app called "Xternal Display for Droid X", or a paid app "RealHDMI" if you're on Gingerbread.
 

techsnif

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
hdmi to HDTV works fine, not clear picture though

just got the droid charge, plugged in hdmi to HDTV, works great. I can watch veetle and youtube videos. HOWEVER, the picture on the HDTV is lesser quality than if I just hdmi from my laptop to HDTV. It's almost as if the great HD picture quality on the Droid Charge is simply enlarged on my HDTV so that you actually see the pixels. It is a 58" HDTV, maybe that's why. But still, my laptop sends a great HD picture to the HDTV.
I thought maybe by using youtube (browser mode), instead of (youtube mode) it would show 720p resolution on my HDTV. But it doesn't achieve 720p (or like it) on my HDTV.
Anyone have anything?
 

rbw62

Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
359
Reaction score
4
Try Dolphin HD browser.

Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
 

techsnif

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
tried Dolphin Browser HD for HDMI pixellation problem

didn't work. Same pixellation problem. Does the Dolphin browser have any setting for HDMI output? Or, is there a way to make the droid charge mimic a desktop computer in sending 720p or 1080p video to my HDTV. The problem seems to be that the Droid Charge does not have any settings that you can change for the resolution of the HDMI output. At least, if it does, I can't find the screen that gives me HDMI options. HD video looks awesome on the droid charge, but terrible on my HDTV when send via HDMI cable. The cable is a high quality Belkin cable.
I've read other forums for other phones that the problem was solved simply by changing HDMI video output settings to 720p 60mhz(or hz?). I can't find where I can do this on the Droid Charge.
 

fatpomp

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
133
Reaction score
2
Location
Los Angles,Ca
I'm not sure about the charge but on my X if I go to Menu> Settings> HDMI there is an option to change the HDMI format.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
 

techsnif

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
hdmi out settings don't exist on charge

i know. I've read that about other phones. The charge does not have anything under settings referring to HDMI. It seems that I CANNOT CHANGE the HDMI OUT settings.
 

gadgetrants

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
197
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
I have a strong hunch your cable is fine. I was disgusted to see that HBOGo doesn't work. I also see that a bunch of apps will display on my Panasonic TV, but most with no sound (several games work). At the moment, the best I can get is plugging the HDMI into a 25" LCD monitor, and I consistently get video+sound on that. So it appears that HDMI is quite picky.

There is already a bit of discussion around on this question, most of it focusing on going into your TV settings, and playing with the HDMI-in options.

-Matt
 

msjohnson2868

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Some ROMs don't have the hdmi feature. It is a function of the Motorola hardware, and is built into motoblur, but may not be in your rom. Especially if it is a port. Not familiar with yours though.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
 

brad92

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
4,486
Reaction score
15
Location
TEXAS
Steel DROID doesn't have functioning HDMI. Only MOTOBLUR ROMs.

Boot Manager
 

ezMesican

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Aw man : ( I guess I'll give this cable to my sister for her X
 

Dilligaf

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2009
Messages
133
Reaction score
0
Location
SoCal, USA
I'll bet there's some kind of DRM bulls**t involved here, especially with the premium content.
 
Top