Droid questions

modified

Reaction score
Hey guys.
I just got a droid 5 days ago and I am loving it. I am an ipod touch user so I am already spoiled with technology. However, I found out today that a new phone, the nexus one, will be faster, have a better screen, and an amazing processor. So my question to you is: Should I return the droid and get a nexus one in a few days or should I stick with the droid? Is the nexus that much of an improvement or just overhyped?

The only thing about it is that I will lose my wonderful verzon coverage.

Also, I am very new to android, and I read that 2.1 will be released in early january. How can it make the phone faster if it is only a software, and the hardware of the phone will n ot be changed?

Last, but not least, I was wondering if it should root my phone. I understand it is like a jailbreak, but what exactly do I gain from it? What can I do that I would normally not be able to?

Thank you for the help, sorry if I am asking very basic questions.

mth04

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Well

Hey guys.
I just got a droid 5 days ago and I am loving it. I am an ipod touch user so I am already spoiled with technology. However, I found out today that a new phone, the nexus one, will be faster, have a better screen, and an amazing processor. So my question to you is: Should I return the droid and get a nexus one in a few days or should I stick with the droid? Is the nexus that much of an improvement or just overhyped?

The only thing about it is that I will lose my wonderful verzon coverage.

Also, I am very new to android, and I read that 2.1 will be released in early january. How can it make the phone faster if it is only a software, and the hardware of the phone will n ot be changed?

Last, but not least, I was wondering if it should root my phone. I understand it is like a jailbreak, but what exactly do I gain from it? What can I do that I would normally not be able to?