Droid 2 dead, looking for options

nattylite

Reaction score
Ok, I'm a newbie here, so here goes .... tried to see if this exact topic has been breached, but I think it's so obvious that no one has probably bothered to ask it? :)

In the past week, my Droid 2 phone had a deadly run-in with a rainstorm - I accidentally dropped it under my car for a couple hours during a thunderstorm. I let it dry out for a few days, did the rice thing, put it back together, and plopped it in my purse to try out at work. Then what do you know, on my way to work, a water bottle spilled in my purse and soaked it, thereby rendering any chance of reviving this phone absolutely nil. W#%@#$!

I didn't have insurance, because almost 10 years of owning cell phones, I have never once soaked or killed one. Now I get water damage twice in one week. Ridic.

The water damage indicator is bright red. And when I finally turned my Droid on, the black and white screen pops up saying, "Bootloader 2c.7c Battery OK, OK to program, Transfer Mode: USB."

I took it to the Verizon store and the rep said that my phone is pretty much kaput - and suggested 2 options: 1) Buy the phone at retail, which is about $600. 2) Add a second line to my contract ($10/month for the next 2 years), and buy a phone from the Verizon store for about $200-$250.

Now when I look up phones on ebay, it looks like I can get a cheap Droid for less than $250.

Is it possible to buy a cheaper Droid on ebay (or from a friend or whatever) and hook it up to my existing line? Or do I need to buy a second line no matter what?

Thanks for any other insight to this situation, folks.

And I am adding this banana just because. :icon_ banana:

Graymayre

Reaction score