Chrome Beta

mdroid28

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Surprised I can't find a thread on this. Anybody else using the new Chrome Beta browser? It replaced Dolphin HD for me. I love it. The integration with the desktop client is amazing.

The only problem is the same thing with all of Google's apps....their damn insistence of putting the settings button at the TOP of the screen instead of down next to the app switcher softkey. Nobody holds their phone from the top, why do they do this? Makes one-handed operation impossible... ok sorry about that rant.

Seriously, give Chrome a try!
 

dolpns13

Member
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
416
Reaction score
0
Location
Dirty Jersey
Is it more stable than Dolphin browser? In my experience Dolphin browser is the best in theory (with the tabbed browsing) but force closes constantly.. I use Google chrome on my laptop and love it

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
 

LaurelRaven

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
184
Reaction score
14
Darn you...got my hopes up, only to learn I have to wait until I have ICS.

Oh well...at least I know it's coming.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
 

dolpns13

Member
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
416
Reaction score
0
Location
Dirty Jersey
Just checked the market and didn't see it. What do you search under?

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
 

CJM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
10,599
Reaction score
1,744
Location
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6
Twitter
https://twitter.com/Corey

Cynthedic

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I like it but only problem is no desktop view. Nice UI though

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
 

patmw123

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
1,753
Reaction score
54
Location
North Carolina
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6
Seemed a lot more laggy than the stock ICS browser. With a little polish, chrome should be awesome. :biggrin:
 

Schultzey

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
I also really like this browser. I did notice the setup of the browser address/refresh button box is identical to iOS Safari.

You should add the menu softkey to the bottom of you phone. I find it very useful.
View attachment 47357
 
OP
M

mdroid28

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Just checked the market and didn't see it. What do you search under?

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums

You have to have ICS.

There's a thread in the news section:
Google Chrome For Android Beta Available Now
Google Chrome For Android Beta Available Now
And here too: Flash Support Will Never See Life On Google Chrome for Android
Flash Support Will Never See Life On Google Chrome for Android

I've been using it & like it so far.


Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus

Sorry, I only searched the Apps forum.
 
OP
M

mdroid28

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Seemed a lot more laggy than the stock ICS browser. With a little polish, chrome should be awesome. :biggrin:

I completely disagree with you. My experience is silky smooth.

I also really like this browser. I did notice the setup of the browser address/refresh button box is identical to iOS Safari.

You should add the menu softkey to the bottom of you phone. I find it very useful.
View attachment 47357

But I don't want it to always be there. I want Google to look at a human hand and make their apps the way EVERYONE else does, where the settings dots appear at the bottom.
 

patmw123

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
1,753
Reaction score
54
Location
North Carolina
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6
I completely disagree with you. My experience is silky smooth.

I want to like it, that's for sure. I'll disable the stock browser and use chrome for a few days. Do you have any unique settings within Chrome to make it smooth?
 
OP
M

mdroid28

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
I want to like it, that's for sure. I'll disable the stock browser and use chrome for a few days. Do you have any unique settings within Chrome to make it smooth?

The only setting I changed was under Bandwidth Management, I changed it to always. Don't know if that matters. Which ROM are you running? That could have a lot to do with it too I bet.
 

JJDH

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
Works good. Doesn't like to play certain videos though !:-|

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
 
Top