Cannot update to 2.2 with rooted 2.1 (motodroid)

tjcalderon

Reaction score
I had a Motorola Droid with Froyo rooted. However my bluetooth capabilities weren't working. So I unrooted... well when I was back to 2.1 unrooted bluetooth works fine. Now I rooted my phone 2.1 but I can't update to 2.2...

What do I do?

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
What problem are you running into getting 2.2 on the phone? If you have a custom recovery image and it's being blocked OTA then you'll need to force the update to install or install a stock rooted ROM. I can locate a rooted stock ROM for you without a problem.

If it's a stock recovery and just NOT coming down then that's another issue and we'll have to dig something up for you to update, but a stock update will break root. Just let us know how you want to proceed. :)

OP
T

tjcalderon

Reaction score
Like I said, I'm a noob. Whatever update.zip I used that put me back to 2.1, tells me my system is up to date. So I can't download 2.2 from verizon (OTA?) But I don't know where to find a stock 2.2 rom (or a better than stock?) or what do with it. I used sprecovery or whatever.

thanks!

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
Twitter
furryvarmint
If you have SPRecovery then it's just a matter of update.zip flashing. Pick a ROM and install it. :) If you want stock 2.2 I'll hand you one. If you want a custom ROM like Liquid Frozen Yogurt or LithiumMod or CyanogenMod or Ultimate Droid I'll try to point you in the right direction.

OP
T

tjcalderon

Reaction score
How about an awesome 2.2 ROM, whatever you use... :icon_ banana:

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
Twitter
furryvarmint
Just because I use it doesn't mean it's awesome. I use it because it's awesome. ;)