Can not Boot !!!

turtlegss

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Help!
I just rooted and then downloaded the rommanager and did a backup and then flash recovery enabled then tried to flash Sourcery. It then did all the installing but now when it boots after the M into the happy holidays santa. It just stays there. Its been going over an Hour!

Thanks for helping!
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
Welcome to bootloops! :)
Did you wipe data and cache in recovery?

DroidForums junkie!!
 

blackngray70

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
376
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
Try pulling the battery. Did you wipe during the install?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
??you there OP? Haha!
If a battery pull and reboot doesn't work, pull it again and slide open the keyboard. Press and hold power + x (release the power button after it gets to the M logo). What do you see?

DroidForums junkie!!
 
OP
T

turtlegss

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
During the install. it had 2 boxes with possible check marks. one was backup i think and the other one was clear some stuff.

Should I have checked these 2 boxes?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
Maybe. I don't use ROM Mangler. Try the method I mentioned and see if it reboots into the recovery. Let me know :)

DroidForums junkie!!
 
OP
T

turtlegss

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
I managed to boot into recovery and revert back to a working phone again.
I'm going to try to install the ROM. Is this common that reinstalling needs to happen to prevent boot loop?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
Taadaa ;)
Personally, I use SPRecovery and don't bother with ROM Manager.
Bootloops usually occur when the data and cache aren't wiped before installing the ROM.

I managed to boot into recovery and revert back to a working phone again.
I'm going to try to install the ROM. Is this common that reinstalling needs to happen to prevent boot loop?



DroidForums junkie!!
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
Awesome!! :)
When you decide to install another ROM, PM me and I'll be happy to help you! FYI: flashing a ROM is the only time you'll need to wipe data. Thought that would be useful in the future :)

THANKS!
I wiped the cache and it finally booted!



DroidForums junkie!!
 
Top