Best way to Tether Droid Thunderbolt phone for internet to PC

Golden137

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
How can I tether the internet from my thunderbolt to my pc? I am not familiar with rooting at all. I tried a non rooting option but was asked to mount my SD card on my computer and I do not see an option for that. What should I do? What is my best option?

Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
 

Droid Firefighter

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
1,633
Reaction score
25
Location
Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
Current Phone Model
S8
You can use the verizon hotspot feature but that costs an additional $30/month. Only other option is to root, use a third party tethering app. Just be aware Verizon is keeping an eye on tethering that goes against Verizon's TOS.

This post is Incredible 2
 

DAVID2010

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
72
Reaction score
0
Location
CA
It's easy. Just add the Mobile Hotspot feature. Your data plan is for your smartphone. Not your PC, tablet, XBOX, etc.

Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
 
OP
G

Golden137

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
It says that I have to subscribe to use the mobile hotspot feature and I'm not sure what the few is but I'm not really trying to add on to my bill every month. Any other suggestions?

Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
 

pdroid

Silver Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
2,252
Reaction score
7
Location
Philly
It says that I have to subscribe to use the mobile hotspot feature and I'm not sure what the few is but I'm not really trying to add on to my bill every month. Any other suggestions?

Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums

I'm pretty sure your other options require you to root.

As other have said, though, Verizon is starting to crack down on tethering that goes against their TOS. Consider yourself warned.
 

MTBryan

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2011
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
No, you don't have to root. Just download Pdanet. I was teathered online with it for a couple of hours yesterday.

I don't have Gingerbread yet though. Not sure if it works with GBread.
 
Top