ATT changes tethering OK

y0manda

Reaction score
I wonder if at&t is doing this because iphone users can now stream netflix because of the ipad app ported to iphone

BigMcGuire

Reaction score
I wonder if at&t is doing this because iphone users can now stream netflix because of the ipad app ported to iphone

I wonder how much of an effect Skype over 3G has on this too. AT&T recently allowed the Skype app to make calls over 3G. So you can buy a $30/year Skype subscription and make unlimited calls to anyone in the USA with your Skype app on your iPhone.

Since I do a lot of calling (and I have a Skype subscription) - this sounds very attractive to me. But only a few days later AT&T showed us the end of unlimited data.

snappingfish

Reaction score
LIKE NOBODY saw THIS coming!!!

The era of unlimited wireless data, which fed the growing lust for the iPhone and other smart devices, is coming to an end.

AT&T announced Wednesday that its $30 unlimited monthly data plan will no longer be available for new smart phone accounts starting Monday, the day Apple is expected to unveil its next generation iPhone.
Most industry analysts believe AT&T's decision presages a wave of similar actions by competitors Verizon Wireless, Sprint and T-Mobile, all of whom declined to comment.

That was in this morning's online edition of the S.F. CHRONICLE....

(pssssst-hey kid...the first one is free.......)

Just saw that this is all over the forums. Sorry-I just joined the wakened. I thought it was NEW news! lol

jsh1120

Silver Member
Reaction score

I wonder how much of an effect Skype over 3G has on this too. AT&T recently allowed the Skype app to make calls over 3G. So you can buy a $30/year Skype subscription and make unlimited calls to anyone in the USA with your Skype app on your iPhone.

Since I do a lot of calling (and I have a Skype subscription) - this sounds very attractive to me. But only a few days later AT&T showed us the end of unlimited data.