Android, Security, Google, Vigilance!

Bateluer

Reaction score
Seems like most of the apps I look at now want network and GPS location, access to phone call logs, contacts, etc. Even for something as simple as a Tic Tac Toe game, it'll want GPS location access. Heck, the Pandora 1.4 update wants access to both Network and GPS location, phone call records, and contacts. No idea why it needs those things, I emailed their support inquiring about it but have not received a response yet. Naturally, when I don't install apps like these when there doesn't seem to be a valid need for the security access levels. In the case of Pandora, if I don't get a response from Pandora support that I like, I probably will uninstall the Pandora app entirely and switch to Last.fm or Slacker Radio, which ever is more agreeable. I'm not a developer, but I just don't see the need for simple applications, tip calculators, simple games, etc, to have any need for location information, phone call logs, or contacts.

This like this concern me greatly because so many people have a very cavalier attitude to their own privacy. I may not install an app that wants unrestricted access to my GPS location and contact list, but my name and number are on other people's contact lists, and they will install those apps, often without so much a second glance at the security levels. Seems like I can be security minded and carefully guard my own privacy and information, but if the people I associate with don't maintain the same level of awareness, then my efforts are completely wasted.

Combine this with Google's 'No Security/Privacy by Default' policy, and it seems like a recipe for disaster. Theo de Raadt and Richard Stallman would be appalled.

What say you?

alphawave7

Reaction score