A little confused about .893 / .902

DB_Tae

Reaction score
Well I have to say that even though I've had my Bionic for about 3 months now, I still have no idea about its system versions. My phone is currently running 5.5.893.XT875.Verizon.en.US, and on the forums I always see threads about this .901 update. Then I see a few comments implying that there's a correlation between rooted phones and this .901 update. So does this mean that only rooted phones can get this update? Or does it just mean that it's an update that can only be obtained manually through some other website? Please fill me in here, I'm still a complete noob to the Droid community.

homez3

Reaction score
You don't have 2 be rooted, but right now you can only get by manually installing it, unless you wanna wait till Verizon pushes it, no clue when that'll be.
Here's the link & the install instructions http://www.mediafire.com/?f2ccj99tr8y6194 Be sure you have the Motorola drivers installed from USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola Mobility, Inc. USA on your PC. Or you can download it directly to your phone at http://db.tt/b8eleKEi If you do that, use a File Managing app (like Astro) to move it to the correct location in step #4 (and skip step #5).

1. Go to Menu>Setting>Applications>Development and check "USB Debugging."
2. Plug phone into computer.
3. Press "Mass USB Storage" from the list of choices. Two drives will show up. One is MOT (Internal Storage) and the other is Removable Drive (SD-EXT).
4. Put the downloaded file on the root (ie main area) of SD-EXT (not internal storage). No need to change the name or extract it.
5. Eject both MOT and Removable Drive and disconnect the phone from your computer.
6. Power phone down
7. Reboot into stock recovery (adb reboot recovery) by holding Power and Volume Up/Down at the same time.
8. When the robot appears, press both volume keys in at the same time.
9. Select “apply update from sdcard” using the volume keys, then Power to initiate it.