2G data on TB?

razor2006

Reaction score
I live in a rural area. I have near full 3G coverage, however there are some spots in which my DINC will drop to 1X.

Will the ThunderBolt support 2G data, or will it be 3G/LTE only? I plan to upgrade, as we will get LTE here probably within the next year or two (hopefully), however it would be nice to be able to have data access the areas in which I don't have 3G coverage now.

Furthermore, I suppose I should ask if it will operate on 2G for voice where 3G is not available? If it has zero 2G support, I'd think twice about upgrading for the simple fact of cutting my coverage area down.

In comparing the Wikipedia articles, the DINC shows CDMA2000/EV-DO Rev. A, whereas the TB shows CDMA 800/1900 MHz EVDO Rev. A., 4G LTE 700 MHz. I'm fairly new to CDMA, being a former long time ATT customer, so I'm not sure what the frequency bands are here as to what is 2G, 3G, etc. (obvioulsy 700MHz is LTE).

Anyone who can advise to or answer my question, it would be appreciated. Thanks!

Edit:

Or am I completely misunderstanding what 1X is? I had assumed it was 2G data when my DINC shows 1X in the notification bar by the signal meter, as opposed to showing 3G, however I may be wrong completely on this. I know from a former job and dealing with older BlackBerry devices, 1x is no data, voice only; but I wasn't sure if 1X was 2G data, or what. I had made this assumption based upon my DINC clearly differentiating between 1X and 3G depending on where I am and what coverage I have, but I could be way off base.

Last edited:

jimmyco2008

Reaction score