Which version of exchange will work on the X

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by plumcrazy, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. plumcrazy
    Offline

    plumcrazy Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NNJ
    i searched but didnt see anything on this.

    New to droid, new to exchange servers (i usually use pop accounts)

    I sent the IT guy an email asking if its possible to run this phone on our server as I did have issues with VZW and a treo700 a few years ago.

    his reply:
    is this enough server info for a solid answer ? will a droid X on VZW work with this type of exchange server ?
  2. Warner
    Offline

    Warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area, IL
    We run 2003, but also have a front end (or OWA - Outlook Web Access) Server. I believe you'll need the OWA server to work with the phone. The cert for OWA isn't big money....Do you have remote users that access e-mail?

    Warner
  3. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try asking this question here
  4. rolandct
    Offline

    rolandct New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    This phone utilizes ActiveSync (essentially just with a different interface) which is what WinMo uses. So this phone will sync with Echange 2007 fine. I have a DInc user who does so now with no problems. However if your Exchange admin uses certain security policies you may run into a problem if they are enforced (they have the option to enable then, but not require then for a connection). If you run into a policy problem then when the phone gets Android 2.2 next month supposedly this issue is going to be addressed with the upgrade.
    If you have iPhone users at your company syncing with ActiveSync/Exchange then chances are they are either not using these policies or they are not enforcing them if they are in place.
  5. plumcrazy
    Offline

    plumcrazy Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NNJ
    rolandct, there are a few iphone users on it now and working fine. so is it safe to assume i can use the X after some security adjusting ?

    titans, thanx for the link. will be there shortly
  6. rolandct
    Offline

    rolandct New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    The X should work fine then, I am an admin for Exchange among other things and if iPhones can work than DX should be able to as well. If not immediately (though it should) then definitely with 2.2.
    Personally I am getting a DX this week and dumping WinMo and know it'll work with our policies on our Exchange 2007 server. That doesn't even include my ability to change them. :D

    Edit: If you are running 2003 (which I missed) there are very few security policy options, so less chance of a problem.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
  7. plumcrazy
    Offline

    plumcrazy Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NNJ
    thanx roland, i hope so and i'll see what he says.
  8. Warner
    Offline

    Warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area, IL
    I am also the Exchange (2003 for now) admin here and we have a remote sales force that uses Windows Mobile devices to connect to Exchange using ActiveSync. I have configured everything from Blackberries to most recently, a Droid Incredible using the same Activesync settings without any issues. It should work fine. I'll tell you for sure on Thursday when I set my Droid X up......

    Warner
  9. astronaut
    Offline

    astronaut New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville
    If you run into trouble using the basic Exchange app on your phone then I suggest you try TouchDown. It is a paid app in the Market but they have a free version you can try first. I have found that it can connect when the basic app cannot and it has some very nice features. Well worth the money in my opinion.
  10. mflynn
    Offline

    mflynn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use touchdown by nitrodesk, I would assume this will work on the DX. It supports all the encryption policies a company may have, exchange 2003, and 2007 along with active sync.
  11. plumcrazy
    Offline

    plumcrazy Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NNJ
    more good info, thanks guys
  12. dangerous
    Offline

    dangerous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    You configured Blackberries to use Activesync? hmm... i dont' think so.. Maybe BES BPS or BESX... I didn't think they did A.S..
    Glad to know the androids will connected via AS though...
  13. Warner
    Offline

    Warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area, IL
    What I said was that I used the same SETTINGS that ActiveSync uses....owa.xxxxxxx.com and the network credentials. Basically, it uses the OWA server to get emails from Exchange.

    Warner
  14. dangerous
    Offline

    dangerous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Gotcha.. Sorry.. I have a Besx and it's a PITA to install. . Yes, for BIS you set up through OWA (sort of)...
Search tags for this page
droid x2 corporate sync the device does not support this ser
,

motorola atrix this device does not support this server vers

,
the device does not support server version droid