vi text editor in emulator

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by chrstdvd, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. dast

    dast Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, now if we could just get emacs working on the droid. I've got a 32GB sdcard so it will almost fit!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. dast

    dast Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dang, just tested and that works great in vi in busybox. Excellent info.

    ROX

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McKenney Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can not make it work on my phone anymore. I extracted busybox to /system/xbin using these instructions:
    How to extract files from busybox

    From terminal imulator
    1. push busybox /data/local
    2. mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    check your phone to see if you already have /system/xbin, if not type the following command
    3. mkdir /system/xbin
    4. cat /data/local/busybox > /system/xbin/busybox
    5. chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    6. busybox --install /system/xbin
    7. mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    7. sync
    8. reboot

    From adb on computer
    source: Droid Explorer
    I checked in /system/xbin to get info on vi. It says 12 dec 10 file size 1062922.

    I wonder if I have a revised from the one I was using in November.

    I have had to revert to typing scripts on the phone using "cat > xxx" then copying xxx to the sdcard, hooking to the computer, going into mass storage mode, then using notepad to edit my typo's ;then I have to copy the revision back to the original folder on the phone. Very frustrating!
     
  4. TuxDude

    TuxDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got ESC key working for vim (had to modify my Ctrl key to use Vol Up :) )

    Does anyone know how to make arrow keys work on the Droid X in Terminal Emulator ? Thanks

    PS: Yes I know h-j-k-l works in VI but for many other cases arrow keys are required in the terminal ;)
     
  5. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McKenney Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could U give exact inst to do that? Where is the control may? TKS
     
Search tags for this page

android terminal emulator vi

,
android terminal emulator vi esc
,

android terminal vi

,

android vi editor

,
android vi save
,
android vi text editor
,
how to use vi editor in android enumulator
,
vi android terminal
,
vi editor for android
,
vi on android terminal