uninstall fission rom

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Jeffykite, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. Jeffykite

    Jeffykite New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do i go back to the stock D2G rom?
    i installed fission, and i realized i like the stock one better. i made a back up when i installed fission, but i have no idea how to do it.

    anyone know how?
     
  2. Ryan m

    Ryan m New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    dayton ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to the same place you made the backup and do restore

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. Jeffykite

    Jeffykite New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm sorry, i don't quite understand what you mean.
    would you be willing to go in to more detail? i'm not sure where i put the back up, or how to recover it, i just know that i did make a back up when fission installed.
     
  4. dankarlinski

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    boot into recovery after using the bootstrap.

    go to backup/restore

    hit restore

    select the stock image.



    you will be back to stock, but still have root, SU, Term. Emulator

    to remove those, unroot using Z4 and then delete Z4. once you do that, your phone will be back to true stock.
     
  5. Jeffykite

    Jeffykite New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome, thank you very much.

    i'm sure i'll go back to a custom rom within the next few months, but i am just too lazy to figure everything out right now. :p
     
  6. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    do you mind if I ask you what was you didn't like in Fission?
     
  7. kingwaffle

    kingwaffle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll chime in on the above question. I too didn't care for Fission. It was fast, however, I prefer the Blur dialer and I also noticed that my GPS simply didn't work with the Fission ROM.
     
  8. NiceGuysFinishLast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I had the same problem, and flashed back to a stock SBF this morning. Just for anyone who finds this in the future, though: The ROM comes with GPS disabled. You have to go turn it on in the settings, AND clear your maps cache, and then (I'm told) the GPS works wonderfully.
     
  9. dankarlinski

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    i never have had a GPS problem with fission. ive ran it on 3 D2 devices and a DX
     
  10. NiceGuysFinishLast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Mine's a D2G... The most recent addition to the Fission ROM, and therefore, the buggiest. Despite being only marginally different hardware wise, I find that MANY things that work on D2s are just sliiiiiiiiiightly off on a D2G.
     
  11. mrapollinax

    mrapollinax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running Fission on a D2G. Maps, Navigation everything that uses geolocation worked for me right off the bat. Then again when I installed the ROM I wiped the data and cache on my phone per the instructions on Team Defused's website.
     
  12. NiceGuysFinishLast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right. And it worked for you, but not for me... That's what bugs are.