Transferring pics via bluetooth

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by 252chevyboyz, Dec 6, 2014.

  1. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Hey everyone just picked up a MAXX today and I got a RAZR M I am coming from. I know I am missing something simple but I was trying to figure out how to transfer pics from my RAZR M to my MAXX via Bluetooth. Not near a computer right now. Won't be back to my personal computer for 2 days. Does anyone know how to or are you familiar with transferring pics via Bluetooth between these 2 phones?

    Any help or guidance is much appreciated
    -Rick
     
    #1 252chevyboyz, Dec 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 11, 2014
  2. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    I know the Maxx doesn't have a SD card slot so I can't access a file folder but is it still possible?
     
  3. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,651
    Likes Received:
    4,004
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,286
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I'm not familiar with phones but hopefully someone here will pop in for advice

    Tap'd by Big 6
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,310
    Likes Received:
    7,067
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,576
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Im pretty sure the Motorola Migrate app will do that. Its meant to transfer data from your old phone to your Maxx (or Moto X). But you have to be connected to WiFi....I think. I have owned both of those phones and don't know of any way to do it via Bluetooth.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,310
    Likes Received:
    7,067
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,576
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I think I was mistaken in my previous post...I don't think Migrate needs WiFi. As long as you can get the Motorola Migrate app onto the RAZR M it should work. Opn the Migrate app on your Droid Maxx and follow the on screen instructions and that might get everything transferred to your new phone.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    I thought Migrate uses the NFC feature to transfer files the way Samsungs S-Beam feature does.

    Update: my mistake.....apparently "Droid Zap" uses NFC. here's an informative link that discusses the various file transfer options for your new Moto device.
    Tips and tricks for Motorola s new Droid smartphones - CNET
    Good luck & let us know how you make out.

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,310
    Likes Received:
    7,067
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,576
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I had originally thought that both had to be in the same WiFi network...then re-read the Moto Migrate page. The Migrate app creates a peer-to-peer wireless connection between the two phones to trnafer whatever data you select. It should work for the OP, as long as the old phone can still download apps...both phones need the Migrate app. At least that's how I understand the process.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Migrate will work and no outside connection is needed by the devices..
    Other than the devices themselves..
     
    #8 94lt1, Dec 8, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Thank you everyone for the help I got caught up with my job for a couple days but with the help from the community I got everything transferred over successfully.

    Thank You,
    -Rick
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,310
    Likes Received:
    7,067
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,576
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Good deal, glad to hear its all setup the way you want it.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

how to i do tap transfer from galaxy s5 to droid turbo