Strip down..

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by HarshReality, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. HarshReality

    HarshReality Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, my wife wanted a GPS for the truck and I remembered NAVFree (maps offline and all) my question is. Anybody know of a tutorial or such that would tell me the most minimalistic way to strip my OG down so its only holding navigation app.. Yes its rooted etc. but I havent touched it in forever (went through a nexus and now on HTC One M8 so Im a bit rusty here.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,684
    I have stripped down my wife's S3 by disabling some apps and she only has the 4 icons she uses on the home screen. Rooted should provide even more options but I'm not certain it's needed if you just remove the shortcuts.
     
  3. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,939
    Likes Received:
    3,283
    Trophy Points:
    563
    Ratings:
    +3,716
    When I turned my old Inc 1 into a music player only I just uninstalled all 3rd party apps I didn't want, deleted shortcut icons for the rest after doing a factory reset.
    You can get a free app called Network to turn off the cdma/evdo radios, dramatically increasing battery life while still having WiFi and GPS available as desired.

    Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk
     
  4. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,433
    Likes Received:
    1,448
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,574
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    This is how I would do it. I'd find a rom then with 7zip I would remove everything from the rom I didn't want. Make a backup then flash the rom without gapps. If it worked, I'd keep it. If it didn't work, I'd wouldn't delete as much and try again. Depending on how stripped down you wanted it.

    You're still gonna need a launcher app. But as for stuff like the phone, mms, etc, I'm not sure if you need those. If my D1 still worked, I could tell you better

    Tapped from a Moto X
     
  5. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +495
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    Not flashing gapps will cause force closes for a lot of system settings including keyboard. :(

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,433
    Likes Received:
    1,448
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,574
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    For the original Droid? I take your word for it but it never happened to me, is why I suggested it. In fact, I'd flash without the gapps to see if I liked the rom before setting everything up.

    Tapped from a Moto X
     
  7. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +495
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    Can't say for the d1. But for my x2 and above, if the ROM required gapps and you didn't use them, it went wonky.

    You're probably right seeing as you owned the phone lol. :)

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,433
    Likes Received:
    1,448
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,574
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I basically did the same thing the op wants to do when I replaced my D1 with my Galaxy Nexus. And it ran fine. Just didn't go as far as they want to go.

    Tapped from a Moto X
     
Search tags for this page
how to strip down android
,
motorola strip android
,

strip down android

,
strip down android device
,
stripping down a droid turbo
,
stripping down android