Smart lock no options to configure on z2 force current update

Discussion in 'Moto Z2 Force' started by SMYDSMITH, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +136
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    When I go to set the settings it's a blank page anyone else have this issue?

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,198
    Likes Received:
    11,790
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,346
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    What is blank? What Settings? Punctuation in the post would help us understand what is being asked.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  3. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +136
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    See attached there's no options[​IMG]

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  4. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +136
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    I searched Google and found that smart Lock which seems to be a Google feature seems to be buggy.
    What worked is to turn off trusted agents Google and Moto(sometimes need to reboot) then turn on Google and then Moto. Moto does not need to be on.
    Part of the bug seems to be it doesn't work after a reboot and it needs to be done again.
    Some of the articles say that an update to Google services broke it and others say that the oem of the phone has to apply a fix to make it work . The bug seems to be accross carriers and phone models ugh. Maybe it will be more stable in oreo

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,198
    Likes Received:
    11,790
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,346
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Luckily for me (and my family) Smart Lock has been pretty reliable and bug free for a year or more.

    And yes, it's a stock Android feature now. Borrowed from Moto X functionality in 2013.



    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,905
    Likes Received:
    3,674
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4,267
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Known issue. I reboot only and it comes back.

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  7. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +136
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    After reboot I have to remove and reactivate trust services for Google and Moto. It didn't stop while device was on.
    I did notice when adding exchange corporate policies disabled smartlock and the smartlock label had an info tage saying so. I wonder if this happens for "hey Siri on apple" This makes it so you can't do hands free in a car forcing you to use your finger to unlock the phone.in this scenario the phone is more secure but using the feature while driving is less safe, workaround might be to open Google maps which keeps phone awake before you drive and start navigation, then you can use ok Google as the phone stays awake till your at your destination.

    Opinions, thoughts....

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  8. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +136
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    I removed Corp email and tested ok Google from lock screen and it still required pw or fingerprint even though voice unlock was enaed what's up with that?

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  9. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,198
    Likes Received:
    11,790
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,346
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Is that one long question, or multiple sentences all wrapped together with a question at the end. I don't really understand that post.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  10. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    might be time to remove all security and start from scratch.
     
Search tags for this page

best cameras