Security on Open Source Network?

kimberjoih

Reaction score
I'm admittedly a total noob here - after using the same crappy flip phone for the last 6 years that only made phone calls (no texts), my new fancy schmancy droid is taking a bit of getting used to.

I was told by a friend that I should be very cautious if I do any online banking or anything, as this is an open source network and anything I do can be seen by everyone. I'm not really sure what this even means. I've looked up "open source network" but haven't really been able to find a definition that makes sense in layman's terms. I'm no techie, so much of the lingo is lost on me. So is my friend correct? Should I never access my bank account on my phone? Are there other things that I need to be cautious about regarding security? Any info or enlightenment is appreciated. Thanks! :)

LtKen

Silver Member
Reaction score
Your friend is talking out of his @$$.

Security over the phone is pretty much the same as security on a laptop. Use only HTTPS (a bank's app is preferable), dont share your passwords, log out when you're done. Easy peasy.

He may have been trying to tell you that it's an open network, which is true in the sense that there is no password like a WiFi setup, but there's no easy way to intercept data, since it's chipped (keyed) to your specific phone. It's not passworded like WiFi, but it's far from unencrypted bits floating in the ether like poetry writers at Starbucks.

Last edited:

takeshi

Silver Member
Reaction score
I'm not really sure what this even means. I've looked up "open source network" but haven't really been able to find a definition that makes sense in layman's terms.:)
You're looking for "open network". I have no idea what an "open source network" would be either since a network doesn't really have source code to distribute.

The routers could be open source, I guess...

brando56894

Reaction score