Question about themes

ralgrl73

Reaction score
I'm new to Android, and just wanted to be sure I'm clear on what a theme is before I start downloading and trying them out.

I have a great wallpaper on my phone which I like and want to keep. But if I download a theme will that do other things like change the native icons and maybe make the lock screen appear different? I think I'm really interested in changing the lock screen.

Advice/info/opinions are appreciated.

Thanks.

Kobe24

Reaction score
It WILL change your wallpaper, if it comes with one of course. Also, I dont think its possible to change the lock screen w/o rooting.

OP
R

ralgrl73

Reaction score
It WILL change your wallpaper, if it comes with one of course. Also, I dont think its possible to change the lock screen w/o rooting.

I saw a screenshot of a theme in which the lock screen was changed. What does "rooted" mean? (I'm new to Android... still learning everything).

I had a theme on my Blackberry Storm which changed the icons but let me have whatever wallpaper I wanted. Are there themes like that for Android?

OP
R

ralgrl73

Reaction score

I saw a screenshot of a theme in which the lock screen was changed. What does "rooted" mean? (I'm new to Android... still learning everything).

I had a theme on my Blackberry Storm which changed the icons but let me have whatever wallpaper I wanted. Are there themes like that for Android?

This is the theme I found that lets you change the lock screen.
WidgetLocker - Android Themes, Android Mobile Wallpapers,Apps,Games Free Download

warrior21

Reaction score
Here is a good read on rooting
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/632-what-root-means-stop-asking.html ----not my title