Problem connecting to wireless network at home

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by mpax9, Nov 9, 2009.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. mpax9
    Offline

    mpax9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't seem to get the Droid connected to the WiFi at my home. The wireless connection doesn't seem to be the problem since my iPod Touch can connect without problems.

    My phone says that it is connected to NETGEAR with "Excellent" signal strength, but when I try to go online my phone has the following error, "A network error has occured. Retry, or cancel and return to the previous screen."

    Any ideas?
  2. vonfink13
    Offline

    vonfink13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Snyder, NY
    Ratings:
    +7
  3. bsloan
    Offline

    bsloan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am having the same problem as well. I think it may be a att&t conspiracy.
  4. DesktopDevin
    Offline

    DesktopDevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have found that with mine if I have the SSID hidden on my motorola surfboard modem that it will not connect even if I was able to get it connected with it enabled.

    Once I enable SSID broadcast it works fine, weird.
  5. drd1109
    Offline

    drd1109 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    had the same problem with my linksys router. ipod touch and laptops connected but droid wouldnt. changed the router to wep and then everything worked fine. hope this helps.
  6. DesktopDevin
    Offline

    DesktopDevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    I will stick with WPA/TKIP and running a MAC filter. It's no big deal to turn on the SSID. I will rarely use the droid on wireless at home anyway so it is not a show stopper for me at least.
  7. Sporty
    Offline

    Sporty New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    SSID Broadcast ON

    I agree with DesktopDevin. As soon as I broadcast my SSID it connects. My DROID will disconnect the WiFi when the SSID is changed to not broadcast. I find this annoying because I don't want to broadcast my SSID at the apartment. DROID version 2.1-update1. Does anyone know if this is fixed 2.2?
  8. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    You should get the app WiFi Analyzer and see how crowded your channel is. I had that exact same problem, until I checked and found that the default channel for my router (6) it had over 14 different networks, and the 3 channels on either side had a total of about 20 more.
    So I changed it to channel 1, which only showed 3 other connections, and I know have no issues :)
    I do have SSID broadcasting already enabled and WEP, but that was previously in place.
Search tags for this page

connect droid to wireless

,

connecting droid to wireless network

,

droid will not connect to wireless

,
droidx2 connect to hidden wireless
,
exchange can't connect over home wifi droid
,
galaxy s3 wont connect without ssid broadcast
,

my droid wifi doesn't connect at home

,
problem connecting phone to wifi at home
,
trouble connecting my droid razr to wi fi
,
why wouldnt my unactivated droid connect to my home wireless