Notification clock

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by justinthegeek, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Is there a way to disable the clock in the notification bar? I've seen it done with themes, just wondering if there was a way to do it from the source code.
  2. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Do the themes actually disable it (i.e. give you back the bar real estate) or do they just make it not visible?
  3. xxlostsurferx16
    Offline

    xxlostsurferx16 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerz
    From what I understand, it disables it so everything slides over, instead of just having a gap and making it invisible
  4. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Correct. The clock is gone and the icons move over.
  5. Cleskers
    Offline

    Cleskers Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ky
    I like that option. Gives a nice clean look.
  6. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    OK, I wish BlackBar did that. I'll have to pester the author.
  7. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Themes can't remove the clock completely - you'll need something in spare parts to do it.
  8. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hmmmm ... I'll have to pester cvpcs then. Bugzilla here I come.
  9. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I should revise - maybe a theme could remove it with a change to services.jar, but you would never be able to get it back if you wanted.
  10. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  11. xxlostsurferx16
    Offline

    xxlostsurferx16 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerz
    MM and froyo don't seem to get along well, usually causes fc's and reboots. But if somebody decides to give this a shot let me know
  12. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can make it completely transparent in spare parts. Kind of a temporary fix until cvpcs can address it
  13. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It would need to be a hack done to services.jar. Any metamorph or update.zip theme that makes that mod HAS to be custom to a particular rom - as all they do is include a modified copy of the system.jar file and transplant it.

    I would like to see a spareparts mod for that as well - not sure if that is even possible or reasonable, but I didn't think changing text colors in there was possible until I tried this rom!
  14. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    CyanogenMod has all sorts of color options as well as removal of clock in the spare parts it includes in the ROM.
  15. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  16. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
  17. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  18. roll3r
    Offline

    roll3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've spent hours trying to figure this out. I've tried using Notepad+ to compare StatusIcon.smalis from stock service.jar with those from themes with the clocks removed and just can't get it. There seems to be very slight differences between the two, but I have no idea what I'm actually looking at. Making what I think are the correct edits results in a boot loop or the clock still being there. Guess I'll jump on IRC and beg for help.

    The sad thing is that when I removed the clock on stock Froyo, it made me nuts and had to put it back. Now it's making me nuts *not* being able to get rid of it. What did I do to deserve this oh lord?
  19. cvpcs
    Offline

    cvpcs Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to remove the clock in-code, you simply get ahold of the TextView that it displays as, and set it's visibility to "gone". there are 3 types of visibility for a view: "visible", "invisible" (space is left), and "gone" (as if the view was never added to the layout).

    i have no idea how this would be modified in smali, but never fear, the bug is on the bug tracker and i have already decided to include it in the next release. if you can't wait until then, well i hope at least that this has given you a little bit of direction on where to look to fix it :)
  20. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    801
Search tags for this page

how to turn off clock from notification bar galaxy s 2

,
how to turn the clock off in the android notification
,
take out clock in notification
,

turn off clock in android notifications

,

turn off clock in notification bar galaxy s 2

,
turn off clock in notificayiob bar
,

turn off clock notification in android