noob needs help from pro

donjlegacy

Reaction score
Hi,

I just purchased an "unlocked" Droid Razr Maxx (XT912) off of Ebay. It has a Verizon stamp on the front of the phone. I put a Canadian Bell Mobility micro SIM card into it, and upon booting up it says it does not recognize the SIM card, however, I am able to call and text perfectly fine. I am not able to access any internet features on the phone though. Have I screwed myself by purchasing this phone? What can be done to get all of its features working on my Canadian Bell Mobility network? Please note that I have zero experience in hacking telephones, so I may not understand all of the terminology that is commonly used within your community. I do have experience hacking PSP and Wii systems through softmod methods. I would prefer not to hack it, but if that is the only road I can travel on here, I thought I would describe my experience level. Please tell me it's just a setting somewhere!

Thanks in advance :)

GoCliffGo05

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 7
Is Canadian Bell CDMA or GSM?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

jpcalhoun

Reaction score
Is Canadian Bell CDMA or GSM?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
GoCliffGo05 I'm pretty sure they are GSM and if he has a 912 receiving text and phone calls what's up with that unless he has it set up on global. I wonder if he has to establish a data plan with the carrier.

OP
D

donjlegacy

Reaction score
GoCliffGo05 I'm pretty sure they are GSM and if he has a 912 receiving text and phone calls what's up with that unless he has it set up on global. I wonder if he has to establish a data plan with the carrier.

I have no idea if Bell is GSM or CDMA, I just tried to look it up and I couldnt get a clear answer. I can tell you that I have a data plan with the carrier though.

jpcalhoun

Reaction score