1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

noob needs help from pro

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by donjlegacy, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. donjlegacy
    Offline

    donjlegacy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I just purchased an "unlocked" Droid Razr Maxx (XT912) off of Ebay. It has a Verizon stamp on the front of the phone. I put a Canadian Bell Mobility micro SIM card into it, and upon booting up it says it does not recognize the SIM card, however, I am able to call and text perfectly fine. I am not able to access any internet features on the phone though. Have I screwed myself by purchasing this phone? What can be done to get all of its features working on my Canadian Bell Mobility network? Please note that I have zero experience in hacking telephones, so I may not understand all of the terminology that is commonly used within your community. I do have experience hacking PSP and Wii systems through softmod methods. I would prefer not to hack it, but if that is the only road I can travel on here, I thought I would describe my experience level. Please tell me it's just a setting somewhere!

    Thanks in advance :)
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    250
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Is Canadian Bell CDMA or GSM?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  3. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    GoCliffGo05 I'm pretty sure they are GSM and if he has a 912 receiving text and phone calls what's up with that unless he has it set up on global. I wonder if he has to establish a data plan with the carrier.
  4. donjlegacy
    Offline

    donjlegacy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have no idea if Bell is GSM or CDMA, I just tried to look it up and I couldnt get a clear answer. I can tell you that I have a data plan with the carrier though.
  5. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    The reason I asked those questions is because the US 912 is a CDMA phone and the 910 is a GSM phone. However, with the Ice Cream Sandwich update the 912 was given the "global" capability which will allow it to work on a GSM network...with the right sim card, unlock code and changing the APN. I'm going to do some research, but it the mean time read through this thread...it is about Razr Maxx 912 owners using their phones on GSM networks...there might be the key in there, particularly the last few pages: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-maxx/212942-international-travel-razr-maxx.html. Go to menu>system settings>about phone>and tell us what system version is on the phone and what Baseban version is...that will help.
  6. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Bell Mobility would need to flash something to your phone in order for you to get internet working I believe? Just like how Metro flashes Verizon phones
  7. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    If what wicked says, and I have no doubt wicked knows what he's talking about, maybe all you have to do is give Bell Mobility a call and problem solved.
  8. donjlegacy
    Offline

    donjlegacy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ This

    It was the APN

    I TOLD you I was a noob!
  9. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Great...just keep in mind we all started as Noobs:biggrin:
    1 person likes this.
Search tags for this page

can you hook net up to wii through droid razr maxx hd