Mobile Site Assistance

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Magdroid, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. Magdroid

    Magdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed the new look of the Droidforums.net

    Can you PLEASE update your mobile site? It is really out of date and stale looking. I use the regular site on my droid, due to the look/feel of the mobile site. The mobile site would be much nicer to navigate through while I am on the go, and not at home on Wi-Fi.

    Thank you Droidforums.net!

    -Mag
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    i think the mobile site is awesome....what do you mean by stale? what would you suggest they change? just curious.
     
  3. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great part of the Droid is the webkit browser that gives us 'real' webpages... the mobile is nice but why use it when you can enjoy a full webpage!?

    I know.... speed. Just saying is all :) Happy Droidin'
     
  4. Magdroid

    Magdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, when you first goto m.droidforums.net the left navigation tabs are really crammed. The page makes you have to scroll left and right, which defeats the purpose of being a mobile site. The forums themselves look thrown together, yet really easy to read. The site is old-school green instead of the Droid Red + Black. Just wish they would toss the mobile site some love, instead of letting it wither and die. (just my opinion of course).
     
  5. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    are you sure yur in mobile view becuz i don't see anything crammed in. everything is beautiful on mine. yes it has a green theme but i dont know what you mean by you have to scroll left or right. i don't.
     
  6. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Corinacakes, Congrats on the mod status. :)

    I'd like to jump in on an existing thread rather than starting a new one, if I may.

    I have a hard time navigating through the mobile site. Why isn't there a directory tree structure at the top of the page like Home, Directory, Devices, Motorola Droid when I am in the Motorola Droid forum instead of the three options Forum, Active Topics, and Search? It would make it a lot easier to back up one directory level to see all threads in the current forum one is in, instead of having to go through the Forum link again. :(

    Also, am I missing something, or is there no way to quote someone's reply in a new reply using the mobile site? :confused:
     
    #6 xliderider, Jan 27, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  7. jimistixx

    jimistixx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the mobile site for speed (and I could care less about all your crazy avatars and sigs)


    But I'd love to see the mobile site get the Droid Red/Black makeover.
     
  8. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    thanks for the congrats! i understand what yur sayin...maybe there's just not enough room becuz it default ZoOms in. no there isn't a way to quote that i can see which bothers me as well. i just use the regular view so i get it all :D