Loading rom - newbie

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by redelephants, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. redelephants
    Offline

    redelephants New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I load this rom will I need to redownload all my apps?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  2. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Just download titanium backup from the market. Backup your apps. Flash the rom. When the rom is installed, download TB again (if its not included in the rom already). Restore all your apps. There's a tutorial on how to use TB on youtube, its very simple!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Google backs up your apps so they should download automatically when you flash the rom.....you only need titanium backup if you want to restore data
  4. redelephants
    Offline

    redelephants New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What method do you recommend for the flashing?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Steady should answer that since I don't have a droid X. But, I always recommend Rom Manager. Different roms are easily accessible through RM. It's very easy to back up current roms and install new ones. Plus you can use clockworkmod or SPRecovery, whatever you prefer.
  6. redelephants
    Offline

    redelephants New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay. I guess I should backup my stock setup in case things go crazy or if I need warranty?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Always make a backup! I learned that the hard way. If you make a backup, its so easy to get yourself out of trouble if something goes wrong!!!
  8. beckerfj
    Offline

    beckerfj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California-Bay Area
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/li...an-one-giant-leap-liberty-1-5-2-2-2011-a.html

    The above link is the sticky for Liberty Rom. This has all the information you should need. If you follow these procedures, you shouldn't have any problem.

    I guess technically the one thing it doesn't clarify is how to root (it just says you have to be rooted). If you already aren't, I suggest Z4Root, it's free, quick, and painless.

    As you can see, the sticky says to use Droid X Bootstrapper ($1.99 from the Market) and I can assure you it works great! With that, I can't say I've used any other method for comparison.

    With the Droid X Bootstrapper, you make the backup. You can have as many backups as you want and it's quick and again, painless so there should not be any reason for you not to make a backup.

    If, for whatever reason you do encounter a problem, this forum is awesome for help as I've experienced the help first hand.
  9. redelephants
    Offline

    redelephants New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. redelephants
    Offline

    redelephants New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the liberty rom loaded and loving it. Just goes to show how crappy stock is.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App