Loading Apps from older Droids?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by fastpat, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. fastpat
    Offline

    fastpat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Upcountry South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid 1 running Android 2.2.3, I'd like to hear from those that are loading their apps from their Droid 1s, 2s, and 3s onto their new Droid 4. I won't have mine until Monday, so experiences for the next two and a half days would be appreciated. :blink:
  2. fingaz
    Offline

    fingaz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I know that I have all my apps backed up onto my SD card... so all i will have to do is just pop it in and install them all from there.. and then update all of them. I can't imagine that it would be a problem. and just maybe ill actually be able to play some games with out them force closing/lagging/freezing up/running choppy......

    Im headed out in 15 minuutes (half day of work) to go and pick mine up. I'll let you know how it goes.
  3. fingaz
    Offline

    fingaz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    So... its pretty cool. When i got the phone, i signed in. When i first went into the market, all of my apps downloaded automatically. And it was pretty quick,too.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  4. debdroid1a
    Offline

    debdroid1a Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I did a back up to Astro in Dec and forgot to do that before switching phones so i had some on there that i could reinstall. Droid4 has an app My Files and they were there to reinstall. Very easy and very quickly.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  5. snowman
    Offline

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +5
    enable the wi-fi menu -settings -wireless and networks wi-fi on just for faster downloads

    go to market
    tap my apps and they will all install automatically
    thats about it
  6. XNAVYGAL
    Offline

    XNAVYGAL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not all of my apps where there. Some I can't even find in the market...

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  7. Metal_Mavrik
    Offline

    Metal_Mavrik New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    All of my previous apps auto downloaded, paid or free. Also the paid apps that I left uninstalled remained uninstalled. I didn't even think about backing them up.
  8. fingaz
    Offline

    fingaz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah... as soon as you go to the Market. the 4g is really quick and your apps are installed within a few minutes. pretty sweet! Ones that I did not install through the Market were not included.. but I just installed backed up apps from Astro File Manager.
  9. droidbound
    Offline

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    So far I have trouble only with two game apps: Solitaire and Jewellust, that don't scale well to the larger screen of the Droid 4. It's time for some new games anyway...
  10. sglfx
    Offline

    sglfx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still a newbie on the tech stuff but Verizon put my SD card in from my droid 1 into the droid 4. Not sure they set it up right and on the computer It looks like they split it in two ? Anyway still on the computer at the android market I saw a tab for My Apps clicked on it and everything I ever downloaded was there. I could click on Install select the droid 4 and it downloaded to my phone (which was not connected to the computer) Unless they took something off the market all your old apps should be there.
  11. MauiMan06
    Offline

    MauiMan06 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,
    Does anyone know if the News and Weather app, that was used on Droid 1, available from market? I think it was Genie Google News and Weather but not sure. Went to market to search but spent too much time looking. Recently upgraded to Droid 4, all apps transferred over but I liked that News and Weather app. Also, I downloaded everything from Droid 1 to pc prior to switching over, so if anyone knows where/what file it might be under would be helpful as well.
    Thanks to all.....
  12. sglfx
    Offline

    sglfx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Old Apps

    https://market.android.com/apps/APPLICATION?feature=top-nav

    I went to the android market on my computer and I had a folder for my apps called My Library, everything I ever downloaded was there! You can even install it to your phone from the web site click on Installed button and a menu directs the installation to your other phone.
  13. MauiMan06
    Offline

    MauiMan06 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks sglfx for the info. However, my library didn't list teh Genie Google News and Weather app. I think it was because it could've been pre-installed app.