Ics

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by tjb90291, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. tjb90291

    tjb90291 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep checking everyday but still no dice for ice cream sandwich

    Sent from my HTC Incredible 2 using GO SMS
     
  2. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    yeah not likely until end of august . rezound and thunderbolt are ahead of you
     
  3. tjb90291

    tjb90291 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lmao who would have thought the T-Bolt would get it so soon it took them forever to roll out gingerbread for it

    Sent from my HTC Incredible 2 using GO SMS
     
  4. mgullick

    mgullick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. bmetelsky

    bmetelsky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome confirmation!
     
  6. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm curious though, when the Dinc 2 does get updated to ICS, will it still have the locked bloatware on the phone? Or do you think Verizon will allow me to delete the ****ing things?
     
  7. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Bloatware is a guarantee

    This post is Incredible 2
     
  8. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably going to do this after the ICS update, but is it possible to basically root the phone, delete whatever I want but don't do Cyanogen mod or whatever?
     
  9. phonetool

    phonetool Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think so. It seems that the only way to get root is to flash a ROM. I could be wrong, but that's what I had to do.

    -CM7 on DInc2
     
  10. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    It is possible to have a rooted stock phone. It just means you have root access without running a custom ROM. If you root your phone, you aren't required to have a custom ROM. Some people root then install an app like titanium backup that lets you freeze any and all apps you don't want. You can also delete them if you choose.

    This post is Incredible 2
     
  11. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been told Titanium Backup is absolutely amazing to have. But like I said, I'd have to root my phone. But I think I'm going to wait for ICS before I do that. It's just that I want some things gone from my phone and also I will say, my phone as it is right now is doing some really strange things.
     
  12. Krennel

    Krennel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pretty much what I did. The phone got so much quicker after I deleted the 20+ bloatware apps that Verizon crammed on there.
     
  13. phonetool

    phonetool Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the time that I rooted my phone ,the only way to do it was to flash an earlier version of the stock OS.
    This action alone was a full wipe.
    From there you could get root and then change the recovery so that more ROM flashing could be done.

    Maybe nowadays it's possible to root the dinc2 without blowing away the stock ROM , but that's news to me.

    -CM7 on DInc2
     
  14. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +270
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    On some devices rooting gets harder after ICS.
    If anyone is willing to root, you should do it now and not even bother waiting for the update.
    A ROM has already been made for this phone based on some leak from HTC of the software we will be getting anyway.

    I'm just waiting on HTC.
    Not rooted anymore.
     
  15. summit21

    summit21 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
Search tags for this page

dinc2 cancel ics update

,
the incredable ics and co forums