How would i use PDAnet to get internet for my PS3

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hoing, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. hoing
    Offline

    hoing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am a new droid owner, and i got the droid for this very thing
    can someone link me to a guide on how to set this up? - pdanet to get internet for droid or if not a guide for something else

    -running UD 7.8
    1.2 kernal
  2. hoing
    Offline

    hoing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    by guide i mean a step by step guide - from basically starting up phone lol (new to pdanet)
  3. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dont know if there's a guide, because a lot of us dont like the idea of this happening, but you basically have to bridge the network connection to provide a real (ethernet) network connection to the PS3, it cant see ad-hoc networks.
  4. hoing
    Offline

    hoing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uhh...what lol? i think what i do is plug my usb into phone and into laptop and press enable usb tether...but then again nothing is that simple

    can u be more specific please mam?
  5. droidilac
    Offline

    droidilac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The wifi "network" the droid provides is called "ad hoc" which isn't recognizable by PS3. You would have to tether it to your laptop and then make a new network and allow other computers/devices to share your computer's internet connection. Then run an ethernet cable (oversized phone looking one, sorry just in case lol) from your computer to your playstion. In other words your PS3 will have a wired connection and not wireless as it doesn't recognize ad hoc style broadcasts.


    I wish you the best of luck and please let us know if VZ hits with charges for tethering to your PS3. Also feel free to state your data usage at the end of your billing cycle. Lol
Search tags for this page
can i use pdanet on my ps3
,
can you use pdanet on ps3
,
how to use pdanet for ps3
,

how to use pdanet on ps3

,
pda net ps3
,
pdanet and ps3
,

pdanet for ps3

,
pdanet on ps3
,
pdanet playstation 3
,

pdanet ps3

,

pdanet to ps3

,
ps3 pdanet